Uncategorized

Life Turns Golden

Without delving into all the unsavory details that y’all wouldn’t be interested in hearing, I shall say that the moment my angel man and I found each other had been a long time coming.  Despite a personal history loaded with nouns preceded by the word “failed” haha, I have few regrets because all of it brought me to this golden moment with a very full heart.

My feelings on the subject of love definitely fed the process of crafting the project I want to share with you today.  The rocky a terrain in which one may find oneself while in pursuit of love…

VivianKehOurLivesTurnGolden_E

The video tutorial shows in detail how these stone-like textures were achieved.  I utilized Sizzix “Ink Splats and Wood Planks” #658725 Embossing folders combined with media to create a sense of hard rock. All of this was done on a new cardstock from Core’dinations, 100 lb. Extra Thick Heavy Weight Cardstock, for all the pieces.  I have to say, this stuff is awesome, holding up spectacularly to some serious mixed media work.  And it is currently available at Joann’s 🙂

VivianKehOurLivesTurnGolden_F

The Sizzix “Apothecary Bottles” # 658715 Bigz die, which itself was the inspiration for this project, was used for the uncorked bottle overflowing with love, as well as the small, sad corked bottle.

VivianKehOurLivesTurnGolden_B

When I looked at the Apothecary Bottles Bigz die, my thoughts immediately went to love, how we can sometimes fall into the dangerous habit of tallying love given and love received, bottling up what we think is a limited supply, when in fact, the more we give, the more we have.  One of the only things in life which works like that, in my opinion.

VivianKehOurLivesTurnGolden_D

To display some words I had put together, I tried out the “Extravorganza” from my Scraps of Darkness September Creativity Add-on.  This product allowed the mixed media work underneath to subtly shimmer through.  The edges can be easily frayed, as well, to create a soft frame.

VivianKehOurLivesTurnGolden_GAs this product is so fine and translucent, I think one could use it to scrap the precious moments of our lives that are ephemeral/transient.

OK, if you guys try making little hearts like this as I have, let me know if it makes the corners of your mouth turn up.  I could not stop smiling throughout the entire process of painting and glossing these cuties up.  Need a happy fix?  Just make these!

VivianKehOurLivesTurnGolden_C

Here’s a full shot of the canvas, which measures about an 8 inch square.

VivianKehOurLivesTurnGolden_AAnd here’s the video:

Hope you enjoy it!

Hey, I’m eeking my way closer to 4000 youtube subscribers and would be thrilled if I could get there before the end of the year.  If you are feeling it, please share a link to my blog or my youtube channel with your crafty friends – any help would be deeply appreciated!

OTHER SUPPLIES:

Core’dinations:
110 lb. Extra Thick Heavy Weight Premium Cardstock

Ranger:
Dylusions Mists
Distress Inks
Glossy Accents

Jacquard:
Lumiere Paint
Extravorganza

TPC:
Stamp Set

21 thoughts on “Life Turns Golden

  1. Vivian, on my way to get ready for my Halloween crop (big reveal day, tee, tee) but just couldn’t leave without telling you how much I love this canvas! Stunning! The message and story is powerful. I will be back to watch the video tomorrow to find out how to make those lovely hearts. Just an inspired piece I would say! Thank You for starting my day on such a wonderful note. Hugs.

  2. Oh you extremely talented lady – your story sounds like mine kid. Only I am much older and had to stumble down that rocky road a heck of a lot longer. But like you – I would not change a thing because I am where I want to be.
    Love your canvas!
    Sandy

  3. I love how you combined a great quote and message (are they your words?) with beautiful mixed media art on your canvas. I am inspired to do the same! I struggle with the fact that my art must mean something other than just a pretty picture, so I do tend to add quotes and meaningful words to my art. I love how you transformed the embossed cardstock into a great background for your bottles of love! Thank you so much for sharing, and I will pass this on!

  4. You have a beautiful heart Vivian. Love your layout and the meaning behind it. I will send your Facebook page to my sister. I think she would appreciate what you do.

  5. Vivian….as always I have ejoyed so very much to see your video and soak inspiration from your tutorial. I just love your art and I’m so happy you will share with all of us. Thanks a LOT!!!
    Hugs from SPAIN

  6. Beautiful art project Vivian! Very inspiring. Thank you for the excellent video tutorial. Also for using the embossing folders, I am planning on buying that set for the floor boards, but wasn’t sure if I would ever use the ink splats. Now, I have some interesting ideas for the ink splats embossing folder. Great creative use of the bottles die, love is so much better than poison. Your inspiring words on the canvas are the perfect finish to this canvas. Thank you for sharing this art canvas, and for sharing more of you and your hubby’s love story. I still think that it could be a book, and maybe a play or a movie. You are a very talented writer. How is Pupusa today?
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

  7. Pingback: Monday Links to Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways #zentangle #Giveaways #Lifeimitatesdoodles | lifeimitatesdoodles

  8. Pingback: Repurposing Seasonal Tools | contadina k

  9. Wow, so inspiring. Thanks for the tip of the 110 lb paper; I’ll be picking up some of that. You project is so heartwarming and the story behind it. You have such a gift for words. I am sure you will be over 4,000 by the end of this year!!!! Thanks, again, for sharing your talents.

  10. Pingback: October Design Team Blogs Review | Sizzix Blog

Leave a Reply

