Uncategorized

Repurposing Seasonal Tools

So when I choose seasonal tools for my studio, I’m always thinking of how I can use them throughout the year, essentially how to get the most bang for my buck.  Of course there is an occasional must-have that I will splurge on and pull out only for specific holidays.  But I always get a big kick out of repurposing the seasonal stuff for use throughout the year.  While I’m pretty sure the Sizzix Bigz Apothecary die was released in time for folks to use it in their Halloween projects, it has basic shapes with countless uses, don’t you think?

VivianKehOurLivesTurnGolden_B

So glad I have that one.  If you missed this “Life Turns Golden” project which features that die, you can find it here.

Today I want to share a pair of cards I crafted this past weekend, working pretty dry, using the Sizzix “Pumpkin, Cat, Crows & Web” #659015 Thinlit die set.  While there is some Halloween imagery in this set,  I love those birds and know that I will be reaching for them often.  Here is my first card.

VivianKehComfortCard_A

All the cardstock on this project and the next are from Core’dinations Graphic 45 Signature Series.  I think this die-cut – a silhouette of birds on a branch – is just beautiful!

VivianKehComfortCard_CAs the card came together, the warm neutrals made me feel comforted, hence the single word.  For just a little texture pump, I added a smattering of buttons from my stash.

VivianKehComfortCard_BThe birds could easily be spooked up as Halloween crows, but in this project, were completely repurposed.  There’s a beautifully swirled flourish in this set, as well, which has a tiny leaf detail that the nature lover within really digs!   Like the birds, the flourish adds a nice dose of elegance to papercraft throughout the year. Here, I used two die-cuts as a backdrop for the pumpkin, which also comes in the same set.

VivianKehGratitudeCard_AThe trick to die-cutting these intricate Thinlits…

VivianKehRepurposedCardsProcessJust slip a piece of wax paper in between your cardstock and your die.  All the pieces will then release easily.

VivianKehRepurposedCardsPairHope you enjoyed my cards today!  This die is sold out at some vendors, but if you click on the link above, you will find it available!

-V

SUPPLIES:
Sizzix:
“Pumpkin, Cat, Crows & Web” #659015 Thinlit die set

Core’dinations:
Graphic 45 Signature Series Darks

Basic Grey: Patterned Papers
Ranger: Distress InkHemptique: Hemp Fiber
Studio G: Alphabet Stamps
Momenta: Metal Embellishment

8 thoughts on “Repurposing Seasonal Tools

  1. Looooove the button card. The way you grouped the buttons is just fantastic! Thanks for the tips on utilizing dies for all seasons. Since we all spend a small fortune on our supplies it’s nice to get the most use out of them.

  2. Vivian – So enjoy your creativity – you are an amazing artist. Seeing your work is a slice of heaven. You push me to get out of the box and create. Bless your heart. Thank you for more great ideas. Robin

  3. My exact thoughts when I first saw this die set on Sizzix…better for year round use! Don’t you just LOVE those birds?!? The neutrals on that card are soothing. Your creations are wonderful.

  4. Both of your cards are wonderful. I have never seen this particular die before. Thanks so much. It is definitely a die for using a lot of different seasons/ways.

Leave a Reply

