Uncategorized

Simply Elegant Textures

Hello, friends! How is your November shaping up?  Mine is proving to be quite busy, in a good way!  Some new creative goals have solidified for me, and I’m hoping that the next step involves me attending the Craft and Hobby Show in January so I can educate myself on how to make my crafty dreams come true!  Wish me luck on achieving membership so that I can attend all the workshops that would help me grow this thing called Contadina K!!!

Today I have a photo heavy post.  But to start, Pupusa wants to say hello and to thank you all for your prayers and good wishes.  She says, “Thanks so much, everyone!  I felt so much love from my mommy and from you during my recovery, and now I am back to all the things I love to do – licking and nibbling my mommy’s face and head bright and early every morning, reminding my furry brother, Mabu, about the importance of play, hunting crickets on my evening walks,  and assisting my mommy during the day when she prepares blog posts, videos, amd writes out all sorts of thoughts.  You may have heard me making cranky sounds on recent videos.  That is what I do to get my mommy to put me on her lap while she works.  This tactic always works.  And this is where I prefer to spend my days.”

Pupusa“Now that I don’t have to wear a sweater all day every day, I can run and leap freely and I’m as happy as can be.”

OK, enough from Pupusa.  Today I have a mini album to share with you.  It’s been awhile since I made one, and it felt great to get back to some off the page work.  This project was done entirely with my new favorite extra thick heavy weight cardstock from Core’dinations.  You can find this at Joann’s.

To start, I dry embossed several pieces with folders from Sizzix.  There is a pair of folders called “Diamond Plate and Riveted Metal, ” #657848.

VivianKehSimplyTextureMiniAlbum_Step1And another travel themed pair that is great for projects revolving around any kind of journey – physical travels or journeys of personal growth, in my opinion.

VivianKehSimplyTextureMiniAlbum_Step2This was the “Airmail and Compass” Embossing Folder Set #658574.  Then I cut up all the pieces into rectangles scaled to fit 2 pieces of upcycled corrugate.

VivianKehSimplyTextureMiniAlbum_Step3I stitched these pretty textured pieces onto a thin piece of printer paper, so as not to add any unnecessary bulk.  Prior to stitching, I added just enough snail adhesive to the centers so that I could keep each piece in place and not get adhesive on my machine needle.

VivianKehSimplyTextureMiniAlbum_Step4And then mod podged the stitched panels to the corrugate.  For embellishments, I stuck with a simple white color palette.  Sometimes I love working this way because without the distraction of color, the eye really lingers on the lovely textures.  At least mine does.  I used Sizzix dies from the gorgeous new Shabby Chic Collection for all the embellishments.

VivianKehSimplyTextureMiniAlbum_Step5These die-cuts above utilized the Sizzix “Botanical Element” #658225 Bigz die.  Beautifully elegant shapes, don’t you think? I used Antique Linen Distress Ink throughout just to accentuate the edges a bit.

VivianKehSimplyTextureMiniAlbum_Step7I used the leftover as a mask to create subtle interest on the interior, patting Distress ink through the negative space left from the die-cut.

VivianKehSimplyTextureMiniAlbum_Step6These die-cut blossoms have fantastic irregular edges, and were created using the new Sizzix “Flower Layers w/ Leaf” #658228 Die.  As you can see, I stuck with white, varying texture with applications of Ranger Glossy Accents and Viva Decor Pearl Pens.

VivianKehSimplyTextureMiniAlbum_HThis accent above is a partial die-cut which used a beautiful “Frame, Ornate #2” #658222 die from the same Shabby Chic Collection.  I saved the leftover pieces to create frames for some text I decided to add to the inside cover.

VivianKehSimplyTextureMiniAlbum_ITake a look at the textures created with the dry embossed pieces…

VivianKehSimplyTextureMiniAlbum_F

Softly accentuated using just a tiny bit of the lightest shade of Distress Ink that I have.

VivianKehSimplyTextureMiniAlbum_DHere are some closeups of the closure I created with pearlescent buttons from my stash, Prima Marketing metal bits, and Hemptique Twine.

VivianKehSimplyTextureMiniAlbum_EAnd from the back…

VivianKehSimplyTextureMiniAlbum_CIf you are a texture fiend like me, it’s great fun to work relatively dry like this from time to time, and by keeping color at a minimum, find yourself savoring all the lovely texture that takes center stage.

VivianKehSimplyTextureMiniAlbum_B

Above, you can see some of the die-cut flourishes created using the Sizzix “Botanical Flourish” #658226.  Below, some play with matte and sheen.

VivianKehSimplyTextureMiniAlbum_GWhen keeping monochromatic, the result is nearly always simple and elegant.

VivianKehSimplyTextureMiniAlbum_AI hope you enjoyed my project today!  Pupusa and I wish you a fantastic weekend, friends!

SIZZIX SUPPLIES

43 thoughts on “Simply Elegant Textures

  1. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful Vivian – just love your attention to detail and creativity in putting the bits together. And in my opinion, CHA would be crazy not to grant membership to you!! 🙂 I am so happy to hear Pupusa is well again too.

  2. So happy Pupsa is feeling much better! She is such a cutie. I am swooning over all this texture! Love it. Has a very clean and vintage feel. The combination of the industrial and travel embossing works very well. Great tip on just putting adhesive in the middle of each piece as to not gunk up the sewing needle. Wonderful inspiration to start November.

  3. Just plain gorgeous! How’s that for an oxymoron? lol What a thought, white on white. so elegant. I am just in agonies wondering what these plans of yours are. You sure know how to tease a person. Whatever you have up your sleeve, I wish you much success and can’t wait to see the results. I am always in your court no matter what you decide to do. I am a huge fan and friend. Love to you and family. ❤ P.S. I'm pinning this and I left another little item on my "Things for Vivian" board today. Hope you like it.

  4. You shouldn’t have any issues becoming a member! I went through the process last year to do the same thing you are and you will get there! You have all the pieces they are looking for. Make sure to get it done as quick as you can, the workshops start filling up right as they open, at least they did last year. The business classes have more wiggle room and I am not sure what you are shooting for.
    I will be there myself this year and would love to meet you in person if you thought you would have a few seconds! I will be teaching something for Copic before the weekend starts so will be there early and stay through Sunday morning.
    The project is stunning BTW and best of luck in ALL your ventures!

    • hi michelle! id love to meet you! that’s if i can register for any workshops lol! i had a fit this morning trying to get in to the site to register. most are business related, but i would love to get into just one of the ranger workshops. that would be a big treat.

  5. Hi Pupusa and Vivian
    So happy to hear that doggie is doing just fine. Sounds like a great idea to entertain Mum when she is busy….lol
    And yes…. Of course I just LOVE your artwork !!!! I adore your work, creativity and soak lot of inspiration from your blog !! Thanks a lot for all you share !!
    Hugs from SPAIN

  6. Beautiful and elegant Vivian. I love the mix of embossing and those tiny textural details. Hope you glean everything you need in January to move you on to the next step. Glad to see Pupusa doing so well too. Jenny x

  7. I love it. Love that it is less in colors. It is beautiful. I just wish I had all the supplies to make the wonderful things you show us. I hope all your “crafty dreams” come true.

    • thank you, diane! i wanted to tell you that i especially love embossing folders because they are so affordable. i never pay full price. sometimes at the big box stores, they go on 30-50% off and then I snatch them up at just a few bucks each. or i will use a 50% off coupon.

    • thank you, sam! i hope i can get this CHA thing to happen. technical glitches right now are keeping me flustered. maybe when you are ready to attend, i can help you avoid these yucky issues.

  8. I had to take another look this morning. Wow! Never has corrugate looked so good. You’ve created a Cinderella story here. I’ve never heard of Viva décor pearl pens before. Off to check them out. Congrats again Vivian. This is a beauty.

  9. I really, really, really love this one Vivian. Your pup is so cute. I’m happy to hear that he is back to his normal self. Hoping that Contadina K grows bigger than ever, and that all your dreams come true 🙂

  10. I love this album. What kind of machine do you have that allows you to sew on paper. I got a special little craft machine so I could do this and it will not go thru 2 sheet of paper. This was an amazing idea..

    I am so happy that Pupusa is doing well. This little dog is just the cutest! I love animals including my unadoptable Kali cat that I have gotten so close to over the years.

    Cindy Bliss-Hayford

    • thank you, cindy! It is the most basic sewing machine, but it takes some “jimmy-ing” to get it to work with paper. Ultimately, when I got a new needle for medium to heavyweight projects, things started moving along better.

  11. I saw your post of this album on facebook.I absolutely love it.It’s georgous.I must confess,I ordered the Sizzix dies immediatly.I will give it a try next weekend, even though I know I will fail,lol.Your work is amazing, and I’m so happy to came across your utube channel.Thank you so much for the inspiration.
    Greetings from Germany
    Astrid
    PS
    Your dog is really cute!!!

    • yayyyy! i love these dies because they are intricate with nice variegated edges, AND they are of the bigz type, so cut through everything! i, too, am so excited to have met you across the miles. your folded booklet and tags are scrumptious!

  12. Pingback: Frosted Pansies | contadina k

  13. Vivian, I don’t know how I missed this wonderful post! This project is amazing all the texture and details. A very, very inspiring project. I struggle to do all white projects, I love colour, all neutral is very hard for me. Thank you for the creative inspiration, I love embossing folders, for me it is instant gratification. I love to take a plain piece of paper and run it through the big shot with an embossing folder and out pops an amazing piece of beautifully textured paper! Thank you for sharing this amazing, creatively inspiring project. I am so very, very happy that Papusa is flourishing and back to her wonderful happy self.

  14. Pingback: Sizzix Holiday Idea Roundup + Giveaway! | Sizzix BlogSizzix Blog

  15. What a brilliant idea to cut up and stitch them together! I would never have thought of that. Glad you did and you are so kind to share so generously. I wish I could take classes from someone like you 🙂

Leave a Reply

