Uncategorized

Time to Say Goodbye

Hi folks!  This post has been a long time coming.  At the beginning of October, I decided not to renew for another term as a designer for Hampton Art Stamps.  Several factors went into my decision, but foremost was the intuitive knowledge that it was just time.  Hampton Art will always have a special place in my heart – being on this team allowed me to really get to know my stamps well, and thoroughly learn the ropes of designing for a manufacturer.  I am extremely grateful that I had the chance to really evolve there as a papercrafter, stamper, and mixed media artist.  I also met some friends there that I hope to keep forever.

As part of saying goodbye, I thought that it might be fun to share with you some of my projects spanning from early on in my term through to this recent end.

VintageTagCardDuoI think the tag on the left might have been my very first post with Hampton Art.  The vintage style in the card and tag pair is something I am still very much enamored with and continue to explore.

CheeryLynn_AThis was a card I made for some holiday inspiration last year.  At that point, I was beginning to learn that if you are going to make all your holiday cards, for practical reasons it’s important to keep the crafting simple.

ScorPal_AThis card was a fun exploration in scoring and was prepared for a hop we did with Scor-pal.

ScorPal_CAs I started to fall more deeply in love with mixed media and the fantastic array of mists available to us, my projects started to embody that love.

VivianKehHamptonArtNumberOneLO_AThis card below was a step forward for me as it represented a better understanding of how to manipulate mists and still showcase a stamp.

VivianKehSunsetCard_ACreate a luminous background and simply stamp a lovely silhouette.

VivianKehSunsetCard_CI was also really excited about how I was able to create a scene here as well.

VivianKehOceanCard_A

Towards the end of my last term, I went a bit tag crazy.

VivianKehILoveYouTag_AStarting to really love imperfections, imperfect stamping in this case.

VivianKehILoveYouTag_BFor the card below, I did a lot of mixed media work in addition to the stamping, and I have a video tutorial for this one as well.

PopNCutGrunge_A_CKWAlthough this next tag was made for a different DT, I used Hampton Art/ 7 Gypsies stamps for the imagery.

VivianKehEbbAndFlowTag_CKW I titled this tag, “Ebb and Flow.”  Some really fantastic nature themed stamps.

VivianKehEbbAndFlowTag_JI used my techniques with hot glue to represent the beautiful intersection between land and the sea.

Vivian Keh aka contadinak Mixed Media Project for SizzixAnother project above with some of these all time fave stamps.

OK want to see a layout from then and one from now?  This one featured Pupusa getting acclimated to the pool.

MeSientoFresca_AHahaha so cute but not really a style in which I work much these days.  Did you catch the small pic of Pupusa rolling in the grass post-pool haha?  She does the same thing when I take off her sweaters.

Stages 3 and 4Here’s one of my recents that I love.

TreadGently_AI love how this melon seedling sent out such graceful tendrils, twining around structures for support.

Thanks again to Hampton Art for the opportunity to learn, grow, and find my voice.  It has been quite a journey.  Moving forward, I am so eager for the new experiences and opportunities to move myself further along in the direction of my dreams!  Hope you will stick with me as I pave my way on this exciting road.

-V

18 thoughts on “Time to Say Goodbye

  1. Hey Vivian!
    I remember watching you create all of these! I can’t believe that it has been that long!
    I am also excited for what your future holds.
    Blessings,
    Valerie

  2. What a journey! I think the last two photos say it all. We clearly see your transition from scrapper to mixed media artist – My deep and sincere admiration for sharing this post with us, and may I add that I look forward to following along with even more exciting developments! 🙂

    I must also give thanks to you for being one of the voices that has urged me on in my development. I so appreciate it! Hugs!!

  3. Leaving is so hard to do….and you will be greatly miss by Hampton Art Stamps…but I know you will have and even better future for us…so glad I found your art…and look forward to what the future holds for you….

  4. What an amazing array of work Vivian! As I am still new to your work it was wonderful to see how you started and in what direction you are developing, an exciting journey indeed! I absolutely adore your later mixed media pieces. The textures and colours make my heart sing! I am sure you will be sadly missed at Hampton Art, I for one can’t wait to see where your journey will take you next!

  5. Great art and a new journey for you. I can see your growth through the progression of photos. But that being said, the first of your posts and just wonderful as well as the last. I am enjoying following your art.

  6. Do I need to subscribe anywhere else or will I be able to follow you from here as I have been??? I so look forward to all your posts!!! I love your work!

  7. Wow, what fun to see your progression with Hampton Art. I wish you all the success in the world with your future artistic endeavors, and can’t wait to see what you get up to next!

  8. Wow, quite the walk down memory lane and I am so pleased to have walked along with you for much of your growth. I cannot wait for the next turn in your incredible creative journey!!!

  9. Congratulations on a new path, another adventure ahead. Love to see your designs and videos, enjoy very much as you move forward with your creation along with your relaxing, sharing your techniques during the demonstrations.

  10. You are progressing toward your dreams and that is very good. Thank you for sharing your art experience on the Hampton Art team. It is very interesting to see how your art has changed and developed. I am now more mixed media than when I first started making cards in 2003. We all need to progress and change and move forward, otherwise we just stand still and stay in the same place and never move forward. I look forward to seeing your art progress in the future.
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

  11. Awesome stuff! On one of the Pupusa scrapbook pages, I recognized the background page from DCWV’s “A Type of Art” stack. I like how some of them have glossy textures.
    Earlier this week, I managed to snag the pack for just $6 bucks. Totally made my day!

    But I love how you used hot glue for texture; among other things. Didn’t take me long to press the “Follow” button. haha.

Leave a Reply

