Uncategorized

Frosted Pansies

Just popping in briefly to let you know that I have a project + video tutorial on the Sizzix Blog today!

VivianKehShimmerCard_A

As you may know, I’ve been enamoured with white as of late.  In this project, as in the mini album I recently shared here, resisting the urge to add lots of color really helps draw strong attention to variety in texture.   Folks, another plus when working monochromatic is that it’s nearly impossible not to end up with a project that sings with a simple elegance.  Great for fast holiday cards, and I am so happy to hear from some of you that the monochromatic inspirations are fueling your own holiday cardmaking.

I must confess, since making the video for this project, I have gotten hooked on crafting these pansies in a whole range of different cardstocks.  They are just so precious – in my opinion, even one would add just that perfect something to projects in a wide range of styles.  In fact, I just made some today to embellish, believe it or not, a slightly steampunky altered box.  The pansies are a new fave and this embossing folder is also just TO DIE FOR!

For more detail shots on the project above, supplies, and the video tutorial, please visit me at the Sizzix Blog today!  Oh, and you will also see another project in the video that uses the same dies for a completely different effect!

-Vivian

10 thoughts on “Frosted Pansies

  1. I just popped over from the sizzix blog, and I had to comment here also and say Thank you for sharing this amazingly beautiful card. The excellent technique video is very inspiring. The simple elegant white card with the beautiful sugared pansies, are the perfect wow factor for the card. So much creative inspiration in this card and the video tutorial. Thank you for making and sharing your video tutorials, you are an excellent teacher. I am a visual learner and your videos are perfect for me. I also just purchased my magnetic platform, an early Christmas present, it is amazing.
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

    • Aw thanks so much, Jacquelene! I am so psyched for you that you picked up the magnetic platform – for die-cutting enthusiasts, what a long time coming this tool was! So great for keeping the tiny dies in place and not falling into the crafting abyss.

  2. Dear Viv,
    What a crispy, classy and elegant card; just like yourself… 🙂
    As usual, your work is so versatile and eye candy.. It’s so enjoyable to watch your videos, as there is always something new..
    Thank you for sharing your knowledge, I personally appreciate it very much.
    Love and light always.
    Glo.xxx

  3. Love your monochromatic card. You have inspired me. I made my Christmas cards in white/silver/glitter. Thanks for the inspiration. They are drying as I write this 🙂

  4. I love your pansy card and the video is a must see!

    I know monochromatic sparkly white cards can easily be adapted to any festive theme but I am anxiously awaiting to see what Christmas/holiday theme you will be doing this year.

    Thanks for sharing your beautiful work and outstanding videos!

  5. Hi Vivian, I think I left some words of love on the Sizzix blog and I just used your card as inspiration for a wedding card I gave last weekend so THANKS!! But, I’m really writing cuz we haven’t heard from you in over a week and I just wanted to check and be sure everything is ok… I hope so. If I don’t hear from you, know I am wishing you and and your 2 and 4-legged family a joyous Thanksgiving. I am so grateful you choose to share your amazing creativity with me… Hugs,

    • Willow I so appreciate you checking in with me. It makes me feel really good to know that you notice when I haven’t posted. There have been some unfortunate developments in my family over the last few weeks that have really sapped me of creative mojo, in fact, like never before. I am trying to recapture it and I think I am almost there. But thanks to you, I realize I ought to post and let everyone know what’s been going on. THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

