Uncategorized

Que Paso?

Oh my word.  Friends.  I am posting briefly to let you know what’s been going on with me.  Usually I have a few posts per week to share with you, and I am so sorry that my home in the ether has been so quiet as of late.  A few things are responsible for the dearth of creative inspiration.

I found out recently that my father has a tumor in his liver, as well as something showing up in his colon.  He is still in the middle of testing, so I am trying my best not to spread the worry amongst relatives online or get upset until we know for sure what is going on.  So far, blood tests show that the liver situation might not be severe – best case scenario, the doctors could cut out the tumors without chemo.  Even at this early stage, though, Dad says that if chemo is recommended, he will not do it.  The doctors seem to be more worried about a hardening in his colon that has turned up.  But everything is still unclear to us.

Just at about the same time, I had a major falling out with a sibling which was ever so depressing to me.

After these events, I struggled in the studio for several days, making projects that I ultimately ended up disliking very much.  Finally, I threw my hands up and went into the garden, a place which does wonders to regenerate the spirits.carrots

The root vegetables are all just about ready to harvest.  I started some cruciferous vegetables that will be put out in a week or so.

seeds

Kale, cauliflower, gailan, two trays of snapdragons.  So far all the sprouts have popped out of their seeds.  Knitting some – its repetitive nature, the counting, the movement of my fingers resulting in  something tangible, all help to calm.

VivianKehMitts

Got mitts?  I am capable of making these very simple mitts, and so I’ve knit one pair after another.  I tried a figure 8 cast-0n for lace socks, which also caused me to throw my hands up :-/… So instead, I am familiarizing myself with using the small needles while Pupusa gets some funny leg-warmers.

VivianKehKnittingAlternative

My blessed crew always has lots of hugs and kisses at the ready.

pupusasleepingPupusa presses her head into mine constantly and I find it so endearing.  Angels, I say.  Angels.

Despite the developments in my family, I am counting my blessings this holiday season,  including you, my lovely readers.  Thank you, Willow, for checking in with me to make sure everything was OK on my end.  It warms my heart to know that folks look forward to my posts and notice when I’ve been absent – hugs to you.

-Vivian

P.S. I am drafting a creative post today that should go live in a week or so.  Until then, if you celebrate Thanksgiving, I hope you have a beautiful one!

40 thoughts on “Que Paso?

  1. As an avid reader of your blog and several others, I look forward to your posts and creative inspiration, sometimes forgetting that you also have a life outside of your blog posts as I eagerly await your most recent artistic endeavours :). Thank you for touching base with your readers and sharing what is going on in your life right now. I truly hope that everything works out for you and your family.

  2. You and your pupusa are in my thoughts and prayers through these times. Thank you for sharing your journey. Stay true to who you are.

  3. Vivian – I an chanting for your happiness & focus plus your father’s health. Siblings can bring feelings & emotions that we had long ago thought ended. Thanksgiving Blessings to you and all the joy & happiness you bring to others.

  4. I’m sure your creative absence was noted by many, so it is good to hear from you, even if your family news is troubling and leaves you without immediate resolution. We could only wish for such transparency, for instance, with our government (just a bit of humor here), but I know we all wish you sunnier days and peaceful acceptance. Gardening and knitting/crocheting are highly recommended ways to deal with life’s ups and downs and the fruits of those labors are truly healing.

  5. Thanks for taking the time to post Vivian. Warm thoughts and prayers for all your family.. I love that photo of you and Pupusa… it is so precious!!! Continue to take loving care of yourself and hopefully, there will be peace for your family soon.

  6. I am wishing you warmer and better days. It is always so sad when our parents are ill. My thoughts and prayers are with your dad for complete healing and to you and your sibling……I wish you reconciliation.
    I have a sister who is a challenge and I struggle with our relationship all the time. It is not easy, so I can appreciate your struggle. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Sometimes it helps to release the thoughts. Thank you for your beautiful creativity in all you do. Blessings for a peaceful Thanksgiving.

  7. Thanks for your post today. I will be keeping you and your family in my prayers. Live in the moment and turn everything over to God and you will then experience his peace.

  8. I told you that the garden will get your creative juices flowing. I am so sorry about the matter with your sibling. I’d love to talk to you (maybe at CHA). I had the same situation with my older sister (that has now passed). It effects you more than you know. Stay strong love!

  9. one day at a time, knitting is relaxing and calming, so guess what, the timing is unreal, I too am knitting…lolololo I never knit, so this will be a story i will share with you in jan. carrots, you know i am jealous/envious …lololo my garden is all pulled out, all i have left in the cold garage is some beets…. smile. Hoping things go easy with your dad and his health. Yes, you have a full plate and yes allow your self to have a “Vacation” from designing. Say that a couple of times and it feel better, a “Vacation”.

  10. So appreciate you giving us an update. Life can be challenging at times. Sounds like you are doing all the right stuff to get through this rough patch. Always look forward to your posts. You are such an inspiration to me and encourage me to reach outside my creative comfort zone. Awwww that pic of you and Pupusa is just adorable. Glad those little fur angels are giving you lots of love. Wishing all of those celebrating, a happy Thanksgiving.

  11. Thank you for taking time to share with us. I find your post very creative, Vivian, it bears your very personal signature, even if it is not on paper and does not use colors. It talks about life, emotions, love, sincerity. May you be blessed, may you receive courage and strength to help you in this difficult moment you go through. Sending love your way. Hugs.

  12. I am so sorry to hear the news but lets keep on counting our blessings specially during the season.
    Keep up doing what you are doing that the paper inspiration will soon return.
    Thanks for sharing with us and God Bless.

  13. I’m so sorry about what’s happening in your family. Tell your father to drink fresh pressed carrots and cabbage. It’s good for his problem! Wishing you and your family all the best!

  14. I was so excited to see a post from you pop into my email. Then I read it and I am so sorry to hear about your family. I am sending light, love, and prayers to you, all your family and that sweet little angel pupusa! Being a cancer suvivor, I understand your dad’s feelings and am praying that he will be guided to the very best support system and decissions for the highest good for all. Love, Cindy

  15. Vivian, first thing in my thought is that all you need to do is to change the way your family eat. It is the most important thing to do. Daily intake is what it turns out, Help your father drink alkaline water, buy a alkaline water machine, and adjust the level to 9 (the highest is 10, normal people drink 7 to 8, drink at least 20 cups a day. Do some research, it works for those who has health problem.

  16. My word! I feel your pain and will pray for your family and a great outcome for your dad. I’ve been through a similar situation right down to the “falling out” aspect and understand a little of the stress and anxiety you must be going through. Thank God for our little loves from the animal kingdom showering us when we are down! I love the picture of papusa snuggling you! It speaks volumes!

  17. Vivian,
    Be strong, and have faith!
    A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bone.”
    Proverbs 17:22, Holy Bible

  18. Oh Vivian, I am SO sorry that you are going through a rough time with your family. How absolutely precious to see your “ANGEL” comforting you! Awww! LOVE it!
    Cyber HUGS!
    Valerie

  19. I am so sorry to hear of your unhappiness. Hopefully this season of being grateful for the things we have will spill over your family and love and compassion will take over again. I miss your creations, but understand your need for healing and will patiently wait for your return. I hope your Dad recovers from these health scares and you and your sibling will once again smile at each other.

  20. Love the photo of you snuggling with your little dog. And those carrots! I must admit I am a bit jealous, as we are getting our first snowstorm of the year here. Sorry to hear about your family troubles. Hoping peace and strength comfort you through this difficult time. Hugs.

  21. Vivian, I’m so sorry to hear about the tough times you and your family are going through. My prayers are with you. I’ve missed your creative posts and so glad Pupusa is comforting you.

  22. Oh yes. NOTICED YOUR ABSENCE. BUT WITH YOUR WORRIES AT THE MOMENT IT IS UNDERSTANDABLE. LOVELY THAT YOU CAN ENJOY Pupusa, gardening, knitting etc.
    Wishing you all the best !! Looking forward to see you back when you are in the mood…
    Hugs from SPAIN

  23. Yes, I too had wondered what was happening and have sent good thoughts and prayers.and will continue now that I know your heavy burdens.
    Peaceful wishes.

  24. As you can see you have many, many friends who miss you. However family comes first! I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers this holiday season. Just BELIEVE!

  25. So sorry you are having a difficult time. You have a great attitude though and see the blessings mingled in the hardship. I will be sending warm thoughts to you and you family. You are missed but your offerings are a blessing so really worth the wait. Take care of yourself and your family. Hugs.

  26. And here I thought you were just still painting that wall…sorry to hear of your Father’s health issues. Hope they will be resolved. The garden & needlework seem to calm and restore ones balance. Praying for you and yours! Hugs

  27. So sorry to hear about your Dad Vivian. I said a prayer for him, you, and your family. Happy Thanksgiving to you also.

  28. Vivian . My thoughts are with you. You will get through this time. I have tended to two sets of parents and it is amazing the human spirit always gets us through. I also lost a son. I made myself get back to painting after not doing so for many years and the very act of painting and creating put me back in balance. Just splash the paint and inks around and you WILL feel better! You will find that you can tackle all that is happening with emotions so much better because your inner self will be calmer having had moments doing something you love like Art. Best wishes from Carole in New Zealand, the land of the Hobbits!!!

  29. I am sorry you are going through this emotionally traumatic time. I will be praying for your Dad, and praying for the situation with the sibling. It often seems to happen during a family crisis that there is a falling out with siblings. I am lifting you up in prayer and positive thoughts. Now I know why your creativity packed up and left, my creativity hates stress. The only suggestion I have for you is to do ugly pages in your art journal, journal your thoughts and feelings in colours and words, even words from songs. Just put it on the page, it doesn’t need to be pretty or blogworthy, it’s for your eyes only. The gardening and knitting are a great stress buster. I am proud of you for finding creative stress buster, instead of just anxiously worrying, so hard not to do. I am so glad that you have your precious fur babies to comfort you and your lovie hubby too! Please let us know how Dad and you are doing.
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

  30. I just found your blog via a youtube video of stencils on a box, which I plan to somehow work into a gift for my MIL’s birthday.

    Saying a prayer for your father that all goes well for him. Another prayer that you and your sibling can mend your differences.

  31. Oh my, oh my. Now I know why I haven’t seen/heard new posts from you. It makes me sad to learn of your father’s health troubles; I know how difficult this can be. And then to have an “out” with a sibling…just tops it all off. Know that you are sent well wishes and blessings from all your followers. If it helps/makes it easier for you to let everyone out “here” know what’s going on, just let go of it. I am grateful for your talent, creativity and sharing. Your little Papusa will get you through this difficult time. Big Hugs,

  32. This is such a emotional time of year. The holidays! Happy and sad emotions, especially hard for those who have ill parents or loved ones, those who care for the sick, those with addictions, anxiety and stress brought on by the busy season, my wish for you this holiday season is taking time out for yourself and rest when you need to. Strength and support from family and friends, mending of relationships that are important to you and may you look toward the holidays with the eyes of a child on Christmas morning. Take care and looking forward to seeing your new posts! Bonnie

Leave a Reply

