Uncategorized

Trimming the Tree

BlogHop_Core_zps4281e109Welcome to my blog, friends!  If you are hopping with Core’dinations and Tombow, then you probably have arrived here via Mary Pat Siehl’s Blog.  Make sure to comment along the way for a chance to win these goodies you see above!  Today, I have a Christmas ornament to share with you that was crafted using Core’dinations Core Essentials Jenni Bowlin Collection and my favorite liquid white glue, Tombow Mono Multi Glue.

VivianKehOrnament_A

I picked up the base from my local hobby store for about $1.

VivianKehOrnament_1The shape really appeals to me, kind of like a stylized acorn.  To decorate, I sanded a creamy sheet of the Core Jenni Bowlin Cardstock, and used it to paper punch several of these miniature ornament shapes…

VivianKehOrnament_2Curled them all with my beloved bone folder…

VivianKehOrnament_4Adhered them to my ornament using dots of Tombow Mono Multi Glue…

VivianKehOrnament_5Working in rows from the bottom of the ornament and upward.

VivianKehOrnament_6This is the lower portion completed – I am a texture fiend, as you may know, so I was very happy with the result of my efforts thus far in the session, yipping to myself in the studio lol!  The more rotund shape was ever so adorable to me!

VivianKehOrnament_7I decided to paint the cap a festive red.

VivianKehOrnament_8And then add some small paper-punched blossoms along the circumference of the cinch.

VivianKehOrnament_9A little liquid pearl lovin’.

VivianKehOrnament_10As well as a soft skirt of fringed chiffon.

VivianKehOrnament_DIt has become a tradition for me to make one or two ornaments each year just for our tree.  I will often dangle a small tag from the ornament and write a few words on the back of the tag to note special memories from the year.

VivianKehOrnament_AI imagine what the ritual of trimming the tree will be like when I reach my golden years – a beautiful stroll down memory lane and a tree full of handmade ornaments!

VivianKehOrnament_BI hope you enjoyed my holiday inspiration and will consider making a precious ornament to commemorate the year.  It’s a tradition which I really cherish.

Thanks so much for visiting with me today.  If you are hopping with us, your next stop is Debbie Standard’s Blog.

-Vivian

The lineup for today, just in case you need it:

Tombow: http://blog.tombowusa.com/
Jennie: http://earthyscrap.blogspot.com/
Mary Pat Siehl http://siehledwithakiss.blogspot.com
Vivian Keh https://contadinak.wordpress.com/             <—– YOU ARE HERE!
Debbie Standard http://debbiestandard.blogspot.com/
Kate Nolan-Denham http://scissorsspatulasandsneakers.blogspot.com/
Core�dinations: http://www.coredinations.com/index.php/cat…scrapbook-blog/

SUPPLIES:
Core’dinations – Core Essentials Jenni Bowlin Collection, Sand-It Gadget, Dust Buddy
Tombow – Mono Multi Glue
Hobby Lobby – Cardboard Ornament
Martha Stewart – ornament punch
Fiskars – small floral punch
Ranger – Claudine Hellmuth acrylic paint, Liquid Pearls
Chiffon

59 thoughts on “Trimming the Tree

  1. Love how your ornament developed! The organic bulbous shape is wonderful. Imagine it makes a perfect addition for this year’s tree. I was looking for this punch back when you made the black magic card with the hydrangea blooms using this punch. Can’t seem to find one…I hand cut some out to use in a similar fashion on a project, but might be easier on the hands with the punch. Still looking & Ever hopeful hahaha! Happy holidays!

    • i looked too and couldn’t find it 😦 did you see my message to you on the fb page? if not, scroll down to see jacquelene’s comment – she had great ideas in lieu of that punch.

  2. WOW wow WOW
    Your ornament is STUNNING Vivian!!!
    LOVE LOVE LOVE it – from your gorgeous curled Core layers, to the cheery red cap, flowers and trim!!! YES, your ornament making tradition is going to be PRECIOUS to your family forever and can only imagine how DELIGHTFUL your tree must already look.
    THANK YOU for sharing your crafty Christmas inspiration!!!
    PS – I have only ever used my bone folder for scoring … looks like I have a LOT to learn with using it with my Core.

    • thank you so much, tracy! i love reading your comments here and at the core blog!!! i call curling with my bone folder, “gettin’ intimate wit mah papuuuuuhhhhzz!” it’s just a great tactile experience IMO LOL!

  3. Vivian, love the step up photo’s and all the deets on how to get the look, just gorgeous!!! thanks for sharing the love

  4. What a unique and beautiful ornament! I also make ornaments every year. I make one for each of my kids and also for each grandchild. That way they will have their own ornaments when they are old enough to live on their own. One son still lives with us but he will be all set when he moves out and my other son just went through a divorce and she kept all the ornaments (even the ones I made for him as a kid growing up). I finally convinced her to let him have those since they have his name on them. Thanks for sharing the great tutorial!

  5. Truly love the ornament. Core’dinations always makes a project a little more special. Cannot wait to try your ornament.

    • the tradition of christmas with my guy is rather new – so far i only have a few handmade ornaments. but i will share our tree as soon as it’s trimmed anyway. happy holidays, jenny!

  6. Well your ornament is very nice! The pearls on the top really add the finished look. Making ornaments all year long might be a fun way to go when you get older. It sure is pretty!

  7. This is an amazingly beautiful ornament. Thank you for sharing the step by step tutorial. Now, I really want to make one too! I will use an ornament shape on a cricut cartridge, that way I can make it the sizes I need. Or the leftovers from Karen Burniston’s sizzlits strip Label Trellis die. Thank you for the creative inspiration, the ideas are whirling and swirling in my mind. I have forms in my stash I can use. This is an excellent idea, and a fantastic project. I could make one for my son and daughter in love, for their tree.
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

    • jacquelene, those are FANTASTIC ideas. Big time savers, too. i meant to thank you for sharing this because a follower was unable to find this punch, and these are wonderful solutions.

  8. This is AMAZING!!! What a lovely ornament and how intricate!!! You have made a prize-winner here.
    ❤ J

    jwoolbright at gmail dot com

  9. How pretty! What a beautiful ornament you have created! Love the dimension of the curled pieces. Thanks for sharing.

    Katie B.

  10. Pingback: Friday Links to Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways #zentangle #Giveaways #Lifeimitatesdoodles | lifeimitatesdoodles

Leave a Reply

