Uncategorized

Just One More Wreath

Wow I went nuts over wreaths this December! The best part is that next Christmas, I can pull them out again… and then craft a few more!

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_BLOVING these twiggy wreaths and how wonderfully they take to embellishing.   For this one, I die-cut and assembled several poinsettias and dahlias from Sizzix’s Susan’s Garden collection using a pretty Scarlet cardstock for the poinsettias and a soft Vanilla Cream for the dahlias, both from Core’dinations.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_EI inserted some rosemary from the garden…

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_DAnd a whole bunch of acorns that have fallen from the tree in our front yard.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_CI wanted to share a pic with sunlight on it so you can see the lovely Core’dinations hues and textures.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_FI also inserted some festive metal balls.

Friends, today I have stepped out tutorials for both flowers with hints to share so you can created these guys easily and with confidence!  To save time for the poinsettia, I streamlined a few of the recommended steps, and I am really happy with the results.  First, die-cut the petals.  For mine, I used more of the largest petals, and very few of the tiniest ones.  And in the interest of time, I just did one layer/round of petals.  You’ll see what I mean as we go.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_Step1This is the largest petal.  For one flower, I used 4-5 of these large petals and an assortment of smaller ones.  Instead of bothering with media, I scored down the petal’s center once…

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_Step2And swiped once with my Sand-it Gadget to reveal a single prominent vein.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_Step3This loop tool from Susan’s Garden Toolkit is da bomb.  I swiped twice down the base on the front side.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_Step4And on the backside, I swiped twice at the top to shape the petals.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_Step5This is the calyx die-cut.  Press the ball stylus in the middle and swirl a few times to create a concave shape.  You will attach all your petals to this piece.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_Step6For this particular blossom, I suggest using hot glue – because it dries so fast, it really speeds things along.  Don’t worry if it’s a little messy.  That will all be covered up as you’ll see below.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_Step7I shaped the stamen die-cut exactly as I had shaped the calyx, and then adhered it to the center of my blossom.  Then I put a few drops of color in the center.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_Step8 Once that dried, I then snipped the stamen die-cut into thinner, more stamen-like strips.  I find it is easier to reach in with small scissors and cut at this point in the game.  If you didn’t know, I’m going for a rustic/gilded contrast in home decor this Christmas, so I added some glitter to the tips of my stamens, and spread it out on some of the petals.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_Step9Pretty!!!  I am happy that I was able to create veining just with my Core’dinations Colorcore Cardstock and a fast swipe of the sanding block.  I also got a pretty poinsettia in basically a one layer flower.

*** For your pinning pleasure, I have created a montage of all these steps at the end of the post.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_StepAFor the dahlia, I stuck to the recommended number of petals to die-cut – 4 large, 4 medium, 2 small, and one stamen piece.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_StepBOne swoop of the loop tool down each petal.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_StepDAnd one press of the ball stylus in the middle.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_StepEStart assembling from large basal petals to small.  For this flower I used regular white glue.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_StepFRoll up the stamen piece and adhere in the center.  For this rather dimensional last piece, I used hot glue.  I like this blossom a lot because it think it captures the dahlia’s spirit very nicely.  Here’s a pinnable montage for the poinsettia…

VivianKehPoinsettiaStepsAnd one for the dahlia.

VivianKehDahliaStepsThis wreath will go in our dining room, above our dining room table that is made of reclaimed wood.  Will show pix once the table arrives!  The scent of rosemary will fill the room.

VivianKehPoinsettiaWreath_BI hope you enjoyed my tutorial today!  Thanks so much for stopping by, and as always, I look forward to your comments!

Happy crafting,

-Vivian

SIZZIX SUPPLIES:

Core’dinations – Core Essentials Scarlet, Vanilla Cream from Graphic 45 Signature Collection, Sand-It Gadget, Dust Buddy
Lindy’s Stamp Gang – mist
Viva Decor – glitter pen
Michael’s – twig wreath, gold balls
Other – rosemary, acorns

11 thoughts on “Just One More Wreath

  1. Vivian….you are truly so clever and a talented artist. I do admire your work so much and love your tutorials. I’m so happy that you’ll share your creativity with us. I always feel inspired after seeing your creations.
    Thanks a lot for sharing this pretty wreath !!!
    Hugs from SPAIN

    • thank you, monica! so glad i was able to inspire you! i think i have the mojo for one more creation for the holidays, and then i will be done and just cleaning to get ready for all my in-laws lol!

  2. Vivian this wreath is beautiful. I can imagine how wonderful it must smell. Thank you for the stepped out tutorial, I appreciate the simpler techniques. The flowers look beautiful together. Thank you for sharing this beautiful wreath. I look forward to seeing photos of your home all decorated for Christmas. I wish you and your hubbie a blessed, beautiful Christmas full of Joy, Laughter and Love. Enjoy the large family gathering. Try not to worry about everything being perfect, relax and enjoy. It will be the best Christmas ever, and everyone will have a great time.
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

Leave a Reply

