Uncategorized

Easy and Festive Home Decor

Hello, my friends!  I am popping in to share with you one last (I think) home decor item that will go in the center of our living room coffee table this Christmas.

VivianKehCoredinationsTrees_BOh wait, I just remembered that I have some eggs to decorate, too.  Eggs at Christmas?  Why yes!  Hope to have time to work on those and share them with you soon.  Anyway, I will confess, my holiday crafting mojo has been very strong this month, a welcome change from a less productive November.  I have been  GO GO GO-ing, and I can clearly feel that the aforementioned mojo will very shortly peeter out!  Looking forward to hubbie getting all the IKEA items assembled, then sitting on the just assembled sofa and enjoying all the handmade decorations over a nice cup of tea.    This is one of three trees that I crafted today.  Really easy, just tore strips of some Shabby Shutters Core’dinations Distress Cardstock, and hot glued them to a foam cone.  I had been looking for cones made of MDF, but no luck.  So these cone bases worked alright – the paper pieces adhered very nicely to each other.  The bind with the foam was not as great,  as I knew foam would behave this way.  Hence my search for MDF.  So I just made sure that paper strips made contact with one another as I wrapped and hot glued.

VivianKehCoredinationsTrees_CSo y’all know I’m going for a rustic/gilded effect in our home this year.  The torn Core + various fibers helped me create a rustic feeling, very affordably, I might add.

VivianKehCoredinationsTrees_AFor the tops, I used whatever I could find, a paper flower, buttons, metal findings, and tiny paper punched flowers with dots of liquid pearls in the center.  For the small tree in the back, I used paper punched strips vertically for a little variety in texture.

Crafting/decorating check.  Time for a coffee break.

VivianKehCoffeeBreakI hope you’ve enjoyed my inspirations this month.  I will try to shoot a video of our home once it’s all set up!

-Vivian

9 thoughts on “Easy and Festive Home Decor

  1. I love all 3 of your trees. I can’t wait to see the video of your home. You seem to have an endless supply of energy. After the holiday’s, you’ll probably sleep for a couple days straight (or just drink some more coffee/tea).

  2. Dear Vivian, Thank you so much for sharing your festive mojo and ideas with us this December. As always, you are inspiring as well as reminding us to look to nature for inspiration. I look forward to hearing about your family time and seeing the house all decorated. Take another coffee break. you deserve it!

  3. Vivian – as usual your creativity hit a home run! The trees with torn paper “snow” are very lovely! Thanks for the great idea!

    Wishing you & hubby & furry babies Happy Holidays & a fabulous 2014!

  4. Your tree grouping is lovely, Vivian! A fun, inexpensive, project, that will decorate your coffee table beautifully. I am looking forward to your video of your decorated home.
    Have a beautiful, fun, memorable Christmas with your sweet hubby, and all the in-laws. This will be a holiday to remember.
    We are supposed to visit our family this weekend, but we are having freezing rain all weekend and we will probably wait until Mon. Very disappointing. This will give me time to get some projects finished, I hope. Thank you for sharing your inspiring tree project.
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

  5. Wow! Another wonderful creative idea… Vivian, you ‘mojo’ is certainly on a high… Please tell me what exactly are you putting on your coffee? I want some of that… Hahaha… Lots of love. Glo.xox

Leave a Reply

