Uncategorized

How Quickly the Days Pass

Hello, my friends!  Happy Holidays to you!  I am so happy to be crafting so much this December.  Last year, I wasn’t well enough to do anything during December, so I am very grateful for the health, time, energy, and spirit, to be crafting up a storm and making our house beautiful for Christmas.   Today, I am up on the Core’dinations blog with a few more pages from my December Daily to share.

Are you doing one this year?  How is yours coming along?  As promised, mine truly is the everyday stuff.  And I’m enjoying using the little life tidbits to inspire the pages, really simply done, which I am realizing is sooooo important given the limited time we all have during the holidays.

VivianKehCoreDecemberDaily_MontageHow quickly the days pass!  I’m jotting down things here and there to be included and finding myself amazed as a result –  so gosh darn much gets forgotten when we don’t document!!! This experience is making me think seriously about getting back to a diary.  I’m hoping hubbie will enjoy this gift and return to it years down the line, remembering all the simple chores we love doing together, and all the silly inside jokes we share right now in our lives.

VivianKehDecemberDailyMittsPage_AFor this page, I paired some lovely colors from the Core’dinations Tim Holtz Nostalgic Kraft Core Collection with a few pretty Kaisercraft patterned papers in order to create a knit-inspired pattern.  The shapes were die-cut from a fantastic basic shape Sizzix die called  Leaves, Tear Drop.

VivianKehDecemberDailyMittsPage_BSeveral dots of a pearl pen were added to draw attention to my pattern of knit stitches.  This year, I am knitting like a fiend and am feeling like this usually seasonal hobby is going to take hold this time around and become something a skill I develop throughout the year.

VivianKehCoreDecemberDailyMeatballs_AWe have been busy trying to ready our home for about 25 of my in-laws visiting on Christmas day.  As of December 1st, the living room was still completely unfurnished, and as you may know, I had to repaint some crazy walls.  (Oh my aching back!)  But things are moving along.  Part of the preparations involved a trip to IKEA for fast, affordable furnishings – love that place, especially the cafeteria, where we stopped first to fill our tummies with some Swedish meatballs.

VivianKehCoreDecemberDailyMeatballs_BI couldn’t get over how many meatballs were heaped on DH’s plate, and of course I teased him about it.  Using just a circle punch, I jokingly exaggerated the number of meatballs he consumed.  I think he ordered double the amount?  But who am I to talk?  I ordered deep fried chicken strips with french fries…  All the meatballzzzzzz were cut from warm brown Core’dinations hues –  French Roast and Latte from our Core Essentials, and Hazelnut from the Tim Holtz Adirondack Collection.

VivianKehCoreDecemberDailyWreath_AMy photo on this page features a project made while hubbie was on a business trip.  His presence was definitely missed, but I made use of the time, checking off items on the to-do list, crafting projects such as this wreath.

VivianKehCoreDecemberDailyWreath_BThe wreath in the photo uses a beautifully pre-embossed cardstock from Core’dinations’ Core Amour Collection.  I created a perfectly coordinated page using the same Core Amour cardstock and a new die that I love, the Sizzix Doily, Classical Lace Bigz Die.  If you are curious about the wreath, I have more details on that on this blog post.

I wish all of you who have holidays to celebrate a splendid holiday filled with much joy and love.  I am so grateful for you!

-Vivian

SUPPLIES:
Core’dinations – Tim Holtz Nostalgic Kraft Core Collection,
French Roast and Latte from our Core Essentials,
Hazelnut from the Tim Holtz Adirondack Collection
Core’dinations’ Core Amour Collection
Sand-it Gadget, Dust Buddy
Xyron – X Sticker Machine
EK Success – Circle Punch
Fiskars – floral punch

Sizzix –

6 thoughts on “How Quickly the Days Pass

  1. I love the pages you created, especially the teardrop one. Well those meatballs are quite luscious also. Have an incredibly happy holiday and with so many family members coming remember to be good to yourself and enjoy, enjoy, enjoy everyone!!!

  2. Absolutely beautiful projects Vivian… The wreath is just amazingly gorgeous… Yes, the days are passing so quickly, Its hard to believe; Earth must definitely be spinning faster!?!!… Oooh! As you have mentioned before Viv, we must savour every moment of our life, as it feels indeed very short…
    Wishing you a peaceful, joyful and loving Xmas time..
    Glo.xox

  3. I must say I love those mittens. I really like the fingerless design in general and those look super cozy. And it’s is so important to document the little things that are so easily forgotten. I’ve yet to do a December Daily album, but I do still want to document all these things that happen…

  4. Your pic of you in the fingerless mittens reminded me that I am waiting for a pair I ordered off of etsy. I am fairly new to your blog and youtube videos and I thoroughly enjoying both. Happy New Year!

  5. Dear Viv,
    I just wanted to wish you a magical 2014 and to let you know that you are missed… I hope you are resting a lot and enjoying every single minute of the day…
    Love and light always xxx

Leave a Reply

