Art and Craft

Virtual Reunion

Hi folks!  Today is a virtual reunion of sorts with  colleagues I met early on in my life in the crafting world. My first experience designing for a major manufacturer still holds a special place in my heart.  Has it really been… years(?) since that first experience?  Well, at the last Craft and Hobby Association Show, I was able to meet two of my former team members in person – Gloria Stengel and Nina Yang.  And today I get to share with you a celebration of our development as crafters.  We are all doing our “thang” and have various projects in the works.

If you haven’t heard about it, I want to share with you today Gloria’s  new challenge blog called Craft Hoarders Anonymous!  You go, girl!   I’m honored to guest design for Gloria this lovely month of May.

And one of the projects I’m sharing today features die-cuts from an adorable die set that Nina designed, Embellish It Flower Elle-ments!  She is quite busy designing actual product now for her own company w00t w00t!

VivianKehFloralCard_ALet’s get a close-up of Nina’s flower.  Isn’t it darling?  After assembling, I inserted a pretty brad in the center to play off the pink in my base piece.

VivianKehFloralCard_BThe challenge at Craft Hoarders Anonymous this month is Ribbon.  My go-to ribbon when I’m looking for softness is seam binding.  This one is from Really Reasonable Ribbon.  To get the wrinkled look, I scrunch it up, spritz it with water, and leave to dry.  This is also “go-to” in that I can dye it with colored spritzes when I’m looking for a perfect match on a more media driven project.  Great investment if you want one ribbon to serve many purposes, IMO.

VivianKehFloralCard_DWhen I do incorporate ribbon on cards these days, it’s often wrapped around a banner.  Love using banner shapes to set focal images off just a bit more prominently, especially when I have an active background like this one.

VivianKehFloralCard_CLately, I’ve been playing with this heart pattern die from Sizzix a lot.  Will make a separate post with a tutorial for it shortly!

VivianKehLadybugCard_AI also had some fun with a second card, playing with this bold palette.

VivianKehLadybugCard_BI fashioned a cute ladybug out of products in my stash, and in keeping with the theme of the challenge, did some fun knotting with a bit of red twine.

VivianKehPairOfCards

Check out Gloria’s Craft Hoarders Anonymous Challenge Blog to see what the rest of the team has created to inspire you and play along, and please visit Nina’s home on the web, too, Waffleflower Papercrafts.  I’m so excited to see how far she’s come in her career in papercraft!  Thanks for stopping by today!

-V


Elle-Ments Dies-Embellish It Flower

11 thoughts on “Virtual Reunion

  1. Love your card Vivian, but I’m having a hard time finding the heart die.Can you tell me where it is on the Sizzix site? Thanks so much,Julie

  2. I love both of these! The pink and white is so feminine looking and the bold red white and blue just speaks to me! Thanks for being a guest designer this month at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  3. Your cards are just adorable, like you! 😉 I love the knotted twine on the lady bug card. So sweet! Thanks again for being a guestie for Craft Hoarders for May. And next time we meet up, we will get to have that lunch we missed out on!!!

  4. These are darling cards! Love the softness of the first card with its sweet rolled rose and shabby seam binding bow. Then, the second card just makes me smile. I love your little love bug! My favorite thing is, believe it or not, the little knots you tied into the twine. It’s the perfect touch of whimsy on this adorable card. Thanks for being a guest designer for us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  5. These are so clever… the lovely soft feminine one with the ribbon, and then the chic, sharp, smart one with the twine – brilliant design! Great inspiration for the Craft Hoarders challenge, thank you, and congrats on your Guest Spot.
    Alison x

  6. Lovely cards! I adore the flower and the heart cutout backgrounds. So glad you could join us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous as our guest DT!

  7. I was sure I had left a comment here? Hey ho… Absolutely beautiful cards as always, Vivian… Love that cute little ladybird, awwee.. The monochromatic theme is so classic & elegant too. Tfs :))

Leave a Reply

