Art and Craft

It’s Time to Raid Your Scraps!

So while I was crafting my Sizzix Challenge project, I went through a “dark” phase.  Haha nothing deep, it’s just that I started out working with a very saturated palette.  Ultimately, I decided to keep a lot of light in my project, so I ended up setting aside a bunch of these mixed media scraps and pure white trimmings.

VivianKehRaidTheScrapsCards_1Do you recognize the circular patterns?  I love using bubble wrap with media and the funky scrunched patterns that result.  A selection of Clearsnap iZinks and mists were used to create the pieces above.   I also used my new favorite stamp (which happens to be an old stamp I never used!!!) to create lots of little colored “bokeh” dots with my mists.

VivianKehRaidTheScrapsCards_2For many of the embellishments, I die-cut several shapes from a new Sizzix Thinlits set called “Be Thankful.”  These wafer thin dies cut on top of your multi-purpose platform.  If you have a magnetic platform, that’s even better for these dies, because it holds them in place.  I’m currently working away from my homebase, and am missing mine!  With either platform, the die and cardstock are sandwiched between 2 acrylic plates as shown above.

VivianKehRaidTheScrapsCards_3I’m sure you can relate – after crafting, one is often left with an abundance of seemingly useless strips.  Several of these were edged with chalk ink – I am falling even more deeply in love with this media because it blends so beautifully and dries so fast.

VivianKehRaidTheScrapsCards_AThese words were die-cut with one of the dies from the “Be Thankful” set.  Since this die just cuts the letters and does not cut a frame, I decided to take advantage of no cut edge, and place the die in several locations across an oblong scrap.  Poking out the thank you makes this a perfect card to show someone you appreciate him/her.

VivianKehRaidTheScrapsCards_BThe blossom that I die-cut for my focal image is a new fave, and of the BIGZ type aw yeah!  Why does that excite me?  Because Sizzix bigz dies cut through everything!  Beautiful in pure white, and stunning when colored as well – the single layered blossom below is “doused” with color.

VivianKehRaidTheScrapsCards_CThis blossom is the result of my “Dousing Technique,” which I shared on my YouTube channel recently.

VivianKehRaidTheScrapsCards_D With this technique,  you can just sit back and munch on some food while these beautiful, natural forms just “happen.”

 

VivianKehRaidTheScrapsCards_II had a flourish left over from my Artist Trading Block, so I used it up during this session.  Scrap scrap scrap!

VivianKehRaidTheScrapsCards_MThese simple typewriter-y sentiments come from a Sizzix + Jillibean Soup stamp and framelit die set called, “Noted.” VivianKehRaidTheScrapsCards_E

A proudly photo heavy post today – so pleased I was able to use up most of my scraps to make a whopping 5 cards.  A few of them, like the one above, couldn’t be any simpler.

VivianKehRaidTheScrapsCards_FThese die-cuts ALSO came from the “Be Thankful” set.

VivianKehRaidTheScrapsCards_GMy Dousing Technique video also showcased a great card die, of the Bigz type – in one pass through your Big Shot, it cuts your card base, creates a framing element, and gives you a banner piece.  The rounded rectangular piece that was leftover from the die cut was dry embossed for this card using one of the patterns from the Dot Matrix & Gridlock Embossing Folder Set.

VivianKehRaidTheScrapsCards_H

See the crackly yummies from the bubble wrap?  I like how the deep colors contrast with pure white.

VivianKehRaidTheScrapsCards_KFor my last card, I cut a wide banner piece from a media scrap and propped one of these gorgeous die-cut flowers on top.  I also used a little banner element at the bottom, which is yet another cool die-cut from the “Be Thankful” Set.

VivianKehRaidTheScrapsCards_LWhat did I learn from this crafting session?  Sometimes, these media heavy scraps are showcased best when paired with white.  They take on a pleasant freshness, don’t you think?

VivianKehRaidTheScrapsCards_Sneak

I hope you enjoyed my post today and that it inspired you to rifle through your scraps and strips!  Even though they didn’t work for my first project, they went to good use in the end!

-Vivian


Core’dinations 110Lb Smooth Cardstock 8.5″X11″ 15/Pkg-White
ColorBox Chalk Mini Ink Pad, Wisteria
Clearsnap Colorbox Chalk Inkpads, Concord

Clearsnap Aladine Coloring Pigment IZINK, 15ml, Voloubilis
Clearsnap Aladine Coloring Pigment IZINK, 15ml, Amethyst
Smooch Spritz Pearlescent Accent Sprays, Majestic
Smooch Spritz in Copper and Pomegranate
Hero Arts – Circular Designs
Ranger Inkssentials Glossy Accents Precision Tip, 2-Ounce
Bubble Wrap
Hemp String
Gems

8 thoughts on “It’s Time to Raid Your Scraps!

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Links to Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways #zentangle #Giveaways #Lifeimitatesdoodles | lifeimitatesdoodles

Leave a Reply

