Uncategorized

Let’s Make the Gifting Easy AND Personal

My brother has three beautiful children – it’s hard to believe the oldest is getting ready for college already.  The two boys are giants.  And the youngest looks like she will also be very tall – her feet are quite large, if that’s any real indicator.  Anyway, both boys have birthdays in October, and since we live far apart and I’m not up to date on their latest and greatest interests, I find gift cards are the way to go, especially since they always forget to cash checks until it’s too late and I have to rewrite them.  That’s kind of annoying.

Anyway, to avoid that mess, I’m a big fan of the card. Plus, when I travel to Florida for the holidays, porting gift cards makes much more sense than trying to stuff bulky gifts inside luggage that I often have to pay to check.  For today’s post, I want to share with you an easy way to personalize a gift card so that your recipient knows your heart was in the giving.

VivianKehGiftCardHolder_A This sleeve was die-cut from a great die from Sizzix + Jillibean Soup, “Pocket w/ Scallop Edge.” It was cut from a mixed media scrap from a video tutorial, “Using Gesso as a Resist,” which I will share with you this week!  Stay tuned!

VivianKehGiftCardHolder_1As you can see above, this sturdy die is of the bigz type, my favorite, and will last for as long as you want to cut these practical sleeves, into which gift cards fit perfectly.  Bigz are especially EZ to cut, simply sandwiched between 2 acrylic plates.  Once die-cut, I used a bone folder to press in the folds which were conveniently scored for me in that one pass through my Big Shot.

VivianKehGiftCardHolder_2For paper projects that will be manipulated like this, I like to pull out my double sided adhesive so that I can be confident it will hold up to basic wear.

VivianKehGiftCardHolder_3Once assembled, a little inking around the edges got rid of any distracting white cut edges.

VivianKehGiftCardHolder_4 Since we have officially moved into my favorite season of the year, autumn, I embellished with a gorgeous leaf, die-cut and embossed with a Layered Leaf die + embossing folder.

VivianKehGiftCardHolder_5After die-cutting, it was sent through my Big Shot with its coordinating embossing folder on Tab 1 of the multipurpose platform.

VivianKehGiftCardHolder_6My leaf had been misted a little and allowed to dry.  Then, using a sponge, I applied just a little of these rich autumn hues to bring out the embossing.  Just so you can see the comparison with and without inking, I am sharing the photo below.

VivianKehGiftCardHolder_7The leaf on the right is also interesting and appropriate if you want the dry embossing to be subtle.

VivianKehGiftCardHolder_8To bump up the textural interest, I wrapped my sleeve with a little hemp – my new favorite fiber!

VivianKehGiftCardHolder_CAnd finally hot glued the leaf and a button from my stash.

VivianKehGiftCardHolder_BSee how nicely a gift card fits inside?  For winter gift card giving, consider using this Stacked Snowflake Die, (of the Bigz type, aw yeah boyeee), instead of the leaf, to make Christmas or whichever festivities which you celebrate that much easier. You can see a picture below.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

-Vivian

 

SUPPLIES:


ColorBox Full Size Chalk Pastels, Pumpkin Spice
Clearsnap Colorbox Chalk Inkpads, Concord
Therm O Web Double-Sided Super Tape
Hemp Twine
Button

4 thoughts on “Let’s Make the Gifting Easy AND Personal

  1. Ah! Great idea for gift cards…so much more artistic result then most ideas I’ve seen;)’ and I’m all about the Fall colours and leaves!!! Now I’m going to chk on the resist tut…;) ~ Terry Y.

Leave a Reply

