Art and Craft

Stencil Girl and Clearsnap Blog Hop

banner

The talented designers at Clearsnap and StencilGirl have lined up several inspiring projects to share with you this week.  I was elated to have the opportunity to play with some of StencilGirl’s beautiful stencils.  Today I have a few projects to share which pair some of StencilGirl’s nature themed stencils (if you visit their site, you WILL swoon over all the designs) with luscious ColorBox Spritzers and SMOOCH Spritz from Clearsnap.  The first project pairs the Doodle It Rose Stencil with sumptuous hues from Clearsnap, including a ColorBox® Spritzers in Pinkolicious,  Smooch Spritz Pearlescent Accent Sprays, Wine Berry and a deep dark Smooch Spritz Pearlescent Accent Sprays, Majestic.

VivianKehRosette_A

To achieve this mottled effect, I simply placed my stencil on heavyweight paper, in this case, Bristol Vellum – I like this stuff because it has a perfectly smooth surface.  Then, with a foam brush, I pat gesso through the design, diluting it a bit with water here and there, but remembering to always keep the brush on the dry side – too wet and the gesso will migrate under your stencil.

VivianKehRosette_1

The variations in dilution create the pretty mottling.  Once the gesso had dried, I wet the surface with water to encourage blending of different colors and to prevent any spray marks.  Then I added my beautiful colored mists, smearing them around with my finger – fun inky messy play!  See below how the gesso acted as a very natural looking resist.

VivianKehRosette_SneakWeb

For the second card, I paired StencilGirl Fern Fronds with cooler hues from Clearsnap, including a ColorBox® Spritzers in Moody Blue and my all time fave blue, Smooch Spritz Pearlescent Accent Sprays, Sea Kiss.

VivianKehWinterBranches_A

While the stencil could easily be used to represent ferns, I chose this one because its shapes and patterns were just abstract enough to be used for other purposes, or simply for interesting texturezzzz!  Using them with these blue mists and the gesso technique I shared on the Clearsnap blog in a recent video tutorial, the fronds transformed into tree boughs heavily laden with snow.

VivianKehWinterBranches_BAt least that’s what I saw.  Nothing more peaceful than a landscape transformed by a snowfall, don’t you agree?  Having lived on the West Coast for so long, I really miss the beauty of snow…  But I don’t miss the shoveling lol!

VivianKehRosette_BFor both projects, I felt a little metallic accent would go nicely, so I edged each mixed media piece with ColorBox Metallic Ink Pad, Full Size, Platinum from Clearsnap.  I also wrapped with some silvery organza that I had on hand, burning it a little with my heat tool to create rippling, and securing with a simple brad.  For my video tutorial on “Burning Your Fibers,” please visit my YouTube channel – if this is your first visit to my blog, I’d love for you to check out the multitudes of video tutorials I have to share there!

I hope you enjoyed my projects today!  Of course, what kind of hop would this be without some yummy prizes up for grabs?

giveawayAll comments left this week are eligible to win.  Comments close Sunday, October 26th at 11:59 pm Central Time.  The more you comment, the more chances you have to win!  One comment per post, please.

Here’s the line up today:

StencilGirl Talk
Julia Kellogg
Clearsnap
Jennifer Priest
Vivian Keh   <—-YOU ARE HERE!

 

SUPPLIES:
StencilGirl – Doodle It Rose Stencil
StencilGirl – Fern Fronds Stencil
ColorBox® Spritzers in Pinkolicious
Smooch Spritz Pearlescent Accent Sprays, Wine Berry
Smooch Spritz Pearlescent Accent Sprays, Majestic
ColorBox® Spritzers in Moody Blue
Smooch Spritz Pearlescent Accent Sprays, Sea Kiss
Liquitex Professional White Gesso Surface Prep Medium, 16-oz
ColorBox Metallic Ink Pad, Full Size, Platinum
Clearsnap ColorBox Pigment Inkpad, Black
Pro-Art Strathmore Bristol Vellum Paper Pad, 9 by 12-Inch, 20 Sheets
Loew Cornell 842 25-Piece Foam Brush Set, 1-Inch
Alphabet Stamps
Silver Organza
Decorative Brad

 

32 thoughts on “Stencil Girl and Clearsnap Blog Hop

  1. Love the rose – such a pretty and artistic one. Makes my heart glad to look at it. The blue fronds are also lovely to represent snow scene. Blues are such fun to work with.

  2. Both are beautiful! Great idea on the blue card, it does look like snow laden branches. Love the colors on the rose card!

  3. All is calm reminds me of a Christmas Tree and with either a puff paint or a glitter paint I would use it on a Christmas card.

  4. oh my, these are beautiful! I always love your creations! I need to get me some of the Sea Kiss Smooch Spritz. I need to get me some of the Colorbox Platinum Ink Pad. It looks lovely on the edges. TFS!

Leave a Reply

