Furry Friends / Jewelry

Handmade Holidays

Handmade Holidays 2014 Hop Logo

Welcome to day 2 of the 4th Annual Handmade Holidays Blog Hop! A few years ago we were looking online for handmade gift ideas and thought it would be great if there was a resource dedicated JUST to handmade gift ideas. Enter the Handmade Holidays hop! We’ve gathered over 100 of our creative blogger friends in the craft industry as well as some of our fellow product manufacturers to bring you a plethora of inspiring gift ideas you can make now to give to your friends, family, and colleagues. Pin and bookmark these ideas for this holiday season and to use throughout the year! Each day of the hop features approximately 30 gift projects and you can “hop” from one blog to another to check them all out.

Anyone who follows me here already knows I’m completely bonkers about my pets.  Whenever the holidays come around, my extended family and I always try to include gifts for these cherished members of the family.  One year I handed out homemade liver brownies to all the neighborhood dogs – the odor was… pungent, but ooh so delectable!  Last year, it was an insane number of handknit sweaters just for Pupusa the Little Dog – for little dogs, one skein of yarn and a tube with two holes just about does it!  Do you include pets in your gift giving? Pets are so easy to please, and the pure joy they exhibit when they receive a treat of any kind truly makes our holidays feel complete.

This year, I’ve got a few decorative charms for our furries’ collars and an accompanying video tutorial that shows how easy they are to make!  While my post today focuses on doggies, these bezels would make fantastic gifts for people, designed to suit different individuals depending on your choice of bezel and inclusions.

Let me introduce my first model for today – my little 7 lb. angel, Pupusa. Pupusa stretches and yawns, wondering, “What could be so important that you’ve disturbed my beauty rest?”

HandmadeHolidaysPupusa_A“Oh, a new dangly!”

HandmadeHolidaysPupusa_BThe ICE Resin Plunger with New Twist-Off Cap for Jewellery Making, 25ml is a fantastic product – the tool doles out the exact proportions of product for a result which cures beautifully clear – any and all little bubbles release, the surface levels nicely, and the twist on cap means I don’t waste any of it!  Above all, I have a super cute charm which suits my adorable Pupusa to a T.

Mixing a very small amount of Clearsnap Aladine Coloring Pigment IZINK, 15ml, Iris from Clearsnap with the Ice Resin gave my bezel a clear, fresh blue tint. I also pinched in a bit of Clearsnap Colorbox Glitter, Winter Frost to reflect this little girl’s incredibly sparkly disposition. Depending on how much iZink you use in this recipe, as I mention in the video, the result can be very much like a starry night – think die-cut stars and a crescent moon as inclusions!

HandmadeHolidaysPupusa_CThis pooch is not much motivated by food, but I gave it a try in the hopes that she’d give me a good pose.

HandmadeHolidaysPupusa_E“If my brother Mabu gets a treat, then I want one, too, even though I don’t like treats that much.”  Not bad – the treat got her attention.  As for what motivates my second model for the day, my cocker spaniel, Mabu, treats are a no brainer.

“I am the master of sad eyes.  The faster I work it, the faster I get the treat.”

HandmadeHolidaysMabu_AHe wonders, “Why is my human waving my treat up and down?  I already gave her the sad eyes.” I’m trying to get a good shot.

HandmadeHolidaysMabu_BIf desired, instead of a jump ring, you could add a simple clasp instead to easily attach and remove charms for different occasions. Notice Mabu’s charm has a deeper blue hue – that’s just an inkling more iZink added to the mixing cup.

HandmadeHolidaysMabu_CMy Westcott 5″ Titanium Non-Stick Scissor with Microtip – Pink came in very handy when trimming such a tiny word to go into the well of my bezel. In the video, you can also see my new Westcott Self Healing Mat, 24 x 36 Inches – it will stand up to all my abuse, and the generous size will protect my entire work surface!

HandmadeHolidaysBoth_BPupusa, Mabu, and I thank you for visiting today. We hope you’ll take some time to browse Our Site for many more inspirations and our YouTube channel for oodles of  video tutorials!

Ice Resin Art Mechanique Mixing Cups and Stir Sticks, 50-Pack

Susan Lenart Kazmer Art Mechanique Heart Hobnail, Small, Antique Silver

Art Mechanique Paper Sealant, 1-Ounce

Are you ready for lots more creative handmade gift ideas and projects??

Follow along on our blog hop! Simply click on each of the links below to be taken to that post with additional information and photos on how to create a handmade gift project. Have fun and pin away!

Clearsnap

Ellison Educational Equipment

Walnut Hollow

Graphic 45

Hydrangea Hippo

Westcott

Scrapbook Adhesives by 3L

Rowland Technologies

Neat and Tangled

ICE Resin

Therm O Web

Elizabeth Craft Designs

Pink and Main

The Buckle Boutique

Clearsnap – Vivian Keh        <—- YOU ARE HERE!

Ashley Rader – Giddy Upcycled

ICE Resin – Jen Cushman

Candy Spiegel- Candy Scraps

Graphic 45 – Andrew Roberts

Rina Gonzales – Mothership Scrapbook Gal

Therm O Web – Amanda Niederhauser

Cori Warner – The Flying C

Yana Smakula – My Cardmaking & Scrapbooking

The Buckle Boutique – Shawn Mosch

Eileen Hull Designs – Eileen Hull

Angela Muir – Handmade in the Heartland

Krista Winters – eat, knit & d.i.y.

Scrapbook Adhesives by 3L – Erica Houghton

Katie Smith – Punk Projects

Elizabeth Craft Designs – Karen Aicken

Jeanie Hevener – Create & Babble

Ellison Educational Equipment – Hilary Kanwischer

Fancy Shanty – Stacy Molter

Liz Hicks – Blogerisms

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow our Handmade Holidays Gift Ideas Pinterest board for even more inspiration!

Follow Jennifer Priest of RainMaker Media Works + Hydrangea Hippo’s board Handmade Holidays on Pinterest.

A huge thank you to our sponsors for this hop – please visit their blogs below and follow them. And be sure to come back tomorrow for another 30+ amazing Handmade Gift Ideas!

Handmade Holidays 2014 Hop Logo SPONSORS 300dpi

Clearsnap || Ellison Educational Equipment || Walnut Hollow || Graphic45 || Westcott || ICE Resin || Therm O Web || Rowland Industries || Scrapbook Adhesives by 3L || Pink and Main || Elizabeth Craft Designs || The Buckle Boutique || Neat and Tangled

Additional Sponsorship provided to bloggers by:

Sakura || Fairfield Processing

6 thoughts on “Handmade Holidays

Leave a Reply

