Art and Craft

Fast Christmas Cards

We’ve had a few sunny days in succession here in San Jose.  It’s been beautiful.  Hubbie spent a few days up north helping his family get through a difficult period, and upon his return, it really set in with me how much I had missed him.  But it had only been a few days!  What the heck?  Anyway, we were able to take advantage of the pleasant weather and had a fantastic weekend doing what we call “Chores of Domestic Bliss.” Yardwork, housework, a trip to the farmer’s market, the hardware store.  Sounds like great fun, right?  I will confess, one of our favorite activities is just going to the supermarket together.  I’m not quite sure why haha!  Anyway, he went into the office on Monday, and now that my playscript has been turned in and I’m without any big craft deadlines looming, I was able to just sit Monday morning, leisurely sift through my stuff and craft a few cards, primarily with papers and embellishments I’d had on hand for a good long while.

Core’dinations has a great collection of Kraft Core Cardstock designed with Tim Holtz, including a line of pre-embossed papers with various seasonal designs and typography.

VivianKehMasculineChristmasCards_CA quick swipe or two of the sanding block subtly enhanced the cool typography.

VivianKehMasculineChristmasCards_BI used the Seasonal Impressions in conjunction with lovely muted shades from Core’dinations’ lines with Graphic 45 to create a set of fast cards – at this point in the month, fast becomes really important, don’t you agree?

VivianKehMasculineChristmasCards_AI love Kraft for Christmas!  However it is used, it always conveys the warmth and comfort which I associate with the holidays.  Must pick up more.  I bought just one Christmas sentiment stamp this year for $4, and am using that on nearly all my cards, if I use a sentiment at all.  I also acquired a great Boughs of Holly On the Edge die which creates some nice sharp edges on this set of masculine cards.  You’ll see this die used for a clean, elegant effect in another set of cards coming up later this week.

How are your holiday cards coming along?  This is the first year where I feel like I’m totally on top of that task yay!

-Vivian

8 thoughts on “Fast Christmas Cards

  1. Loving the kraft! Quick is good. These have such a classic feel. That on the edge holly is just the right touch. Cards? Well I was so proud that I got some done early. Have I sent them? Nope. Ah, there is still time right?

  2. Hi, Vivian,
    Like all your creations, I think these cards are the best I’ve seen, just wish I’d gotten this idea before I mass produced all my cards for this year. I would have totally cased them. So I may be getting a super early start for next year…. that would be different.

  3. Vivian – love this card. Would you mind sharing who the sentiment stamp is by? It seems the perfect image for this card and I would love to find one.

Leave a Reply

