Art and Craft

More Fast Christmas Cards

I love this time of year.  The garden rests – right now it’s soaking up some much needed rain.  This year several deciduous fruit trees that I planted are losing their leaves – the bare structure of the tree is becoming visible and woo mama I had no idea that I would find the swelling buds down the length of the branches so beautiful.  A promise of fruit.  As the weather is more frequently rainy and cold, I enthusiastically reach for my knitting needles and get back into this seasonal hobby.  I’m planning to knit some socks up as gifts, as soon as I learn how to do it haha!

At this time, I also start brainstorming how best to approach the numerous Christmas cards I plan to make.  At this point in the game,  they must.  Be.  Easy.  Did you catch my other Christmas Card Set that posted earlier this week?  These cards today use the same Boughs of Holly Die, are also fast and easy, but have a fresher, more elegant result.

I created this set of four for Clearsnap’s December Color Challenge.  The colors in this challenge feature the traditional reds and greens as well as some stunning red, white and black combinations.  If I have a chance, I’ll definitely give those hues a go.

VivianKehDecemberChallenge_A

The assembly on these couldn’t have been any easier or faster.  I die-cut my holly, doused them using the technique I’ve shared with you on my YouTube Channel.  The only real time was waiting for the die-cuts to dry.  But I don’t think that counts really because I just set them aside to dry and got on with my other tasks for the day.  The next day, assembly literally took a few minutes.

VivianKehDecemberChallenge_BThe variegated colors that result from the Dousing Technique always showcase well against a white background.  All the cards were mounted on a kraft card base.  Kraft!  Hoping to make several more cards that feature that comfy cozy color.

That’s all for today, friends.  Hope you are enjoying the season!

-Vivian

9 thoughts on “More Fast Christmas Cards

  1. Another super duper card. I don’t have the holly border but I do have the snowflake border die. I could made some fast cards using your idea. Thanks so much for the inspiration; I needed that 🙂

  2. Love your cards, and you keep inspiring me try new things. This is my very first time making Christmas cards, and I’m beginning to wish I had less friends and family–just kidding! I’m stressfully waiting for a certain color paper in one order, and better sentiment stamps in another. Love your ‘merry christmas’ stamp, Vivian. The word ‘merry’ looks merry!

    Regarding your fruit trees: I’m old, so long ago thoughts bubble up in my brain sometimes with just the tiniest bit of encouragement. When I bought my blueberries in the early ’80’s, the nurseryman told me the fat buds would be flowers while the narrow buds were leaves. I’ll watch my pear tree, you watch your various fruits, and we can compare notes next spring to see if that’s true for more than just blueberries!

  3. Pingback: Thursday Links to Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways #zentangle #Giveaways #ArtJournal | lifeimitatesdoodles

    • Hi Kim, I believe this one was manufactured by Hampton Art. It’s a woodblock stamp. I wish I could point you to a link, but I don’t believe they have an online store.

Leave a Reply

