Art and Craft

Inspired by Cookies

As Christmas fast approaches, I’m in the studio humming along to holiday tunes, crafting up a final batch of cards, and at the same time remembering good times spent with my family last year.  Last year, my niece and I made sugar cookies with royal icing and I recall those pretties got eaten up lickety split by the boys.  This year, hubby and I are staying put – his father isn’t doing too well, so we will stay in California and have a quiet holiday.  While I am sad that I won’t be seeing the kids, on the up side, I have been able to get a number of things done without any of the stress that’s normally a part of having to travel etc.  If I can get it together, I may even give a room or two a fresh coat of paint.  Reminiscing about the holiday cookie making, I was inspired to make a set of cards for the kids.  I think the results were too cute!

I hope you’ll enjoy the video, and if you feel so inclined, please share with your friends.  I am about 900 short from reaching my year end goal of 10,000 subscribers.  It would really make my year to get there, and your help would be much appreciated!

Gingerbread cookies, sugar cookies with royal icing, candy canes and sweets galore.

VivianKehCookiesOnCards_CSince there was a bit of waiting involved with the faux “royal icing,” I decided to up the shine factor on the candy canes with a little bit of media.

VivianKehCookiesOnCards_DThe great thing about these cards is that the bulk of the design came from one Sizzix “My Christmas Wish” Set (see below) which includes several embossing folders and a bonus Sizzlit.  The rest really was pulled from my stash of buttons and fibers.

FYI, this set is not a new release, and I’m not sure when it will be retired.  So if you like it as much as I do, you might want to pick one up before they are all gone!

Buttons
Seam Binding
Twine

3 thoughts on “Inspired by Cookies

  1. I want to eat your cards; I can smell the gingerbread from here. They look so good and the color combo is super duper. Merry merry……

  2. My favorite trimmers are Rotatrim. I have a 12 inch and a 36 inch. They never need sharpening and are super accurate – you can cut a hair thickness with no problem. I have had the 36 inch trimmer for over 15 years and it’s still going strong (I’m a photographer – I use it in my business). They are expensive but I think they are worth every penny. I have the pro versions with double bars, e.g. Rotatrim RC RCM12. (I have no idea how the mono bar versions work.)

Leave a Reply

