Art and Craft / Writing

A Feeling of Wonder

I’ve been spending a good amount of time in the garden these past several days.  The few rose bushes that I’ve got are all blooming profusely, as are the spectacularly glittered irises.  Seeing, smelling, being in the garden is so good for my soul!  The experience of being in nature creates such a feeling of wonderment within.  There’s nothing like it.

It’s pretty hot in my neck of the woods today, so I’m spending a good chunk of the day in the studio.  And I’m eager to share with you what I’ve created!  Did you catch my last post on the Sizzix Blog?  One of the dies that I featured in that post was the Lotus Bigz die.  The rounded, notched lotus leaf die-cuts in this one really caught my eye.  And I mentioned in my video that I’d be playing more with these leaves in another project.  Here are the results of my play!

VivianKehWonderBanner_1First, I die-cut a basic banner shape using the “Banner, Big” Bigz die from Lori Whitlock.  This die is a sturdy bigz, and it’s a nice, basic shape – a great staple to add to your die collection, IMO.  For the background, I added media in a variety of colors.

VivianKehWonderBanner_3For some subtle interest, I used my Damask die-cut as a stencil, creating an “echo” of some of the red tones in my background.

VivianKehWonderBanner_4These patterns were misted with water to further soften the edges.

VivianKehWonderBanner_5 Next, I colored the lovely lotus leaf die-cuts with some distress inks and then misted with water for that great splattered effect.

VivianKehWonderBanner_6This is what I call the yummy part, getting my fingers really wet with media!  To create this effect, I adhered the leaves to my banner using decoupage medium, then added a deep blue color along the edges, blending with more of the decoupage medium.

VivianKehWonderBanner_7To carry the beautiful red tone further, I used the left-over piece from my lotus leaf die-cut as a stencil.  And ooh ooh ooh, for the final touch…

VivianKehWonderBanner_8A dragonfly die-cut from a set that I often return to called, “Asian Dragonfly.”  This set also includes a gingko shaped leaf die-cut and small textural embossing folders – I love it.  I hot glued the insect to my banner, and then created a few water droplets with my hot glue gun.

VivianKehWonderBanner_HiResI love how this turned out!  Here’s how it shimmers in the sun…

VivianKehWonderBanner_B

In other news, this week I’ll be traveling to Los Angeles to do research for an expansion of my one-act play that was recently produced at East West Players for their Theater for Youth program.   I’m proud to tell you that it was their most successful Theater for Youth production to date!  I’m so thankful for this positive experience for so many reasons.  Anticipating this research trip and spending the summer months building the work into a full length play makes me really happy.

I’ll try to tweet during this trip and share with you the fun!

8 thoughts on “A Feeling of Wonder

  1. Just added the two dies to my wish list 🙂 Yes, I saw your Sizzix post too and just love, love the lily pad leaves. You did an amazing job with the banner. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Beautiful as usual! Love how you splattered your colors and how you made the droplets! It is v.warm here today in Oakdale-84 so far! Our first raspberries were eaten yesterday!Thank you for your beautiful ,colorful artwork!

  3. Simply breath taking. I love it. What a spectacular project you’ve created. Thank you Vivian, Congratulations on your play. Very happy for you.

Leave a Reply

