Art and Craft

Krafty Sketchy and Skewed

My nephew, Gregory, has a birthday coming up.  Really soon.  My present will probably be late – ruh roh.  Well, you know what they say, and so I shall mail off a little something later today along with a card I whipped up last night and cross my fingers that it gets there in time.  I probably should just chill about getting gifts for the niece and nephews there on time.  100% of the time, I never hear back, so I don’t ever know if they’ve received anything I’ve sent (lol?), and it’s always been that way.   Anyway, at least while they’re still young, I like to make the effort so that they know that I love them and that even though I’m not physically there to celebrate, I am with them in spirit.

I have a few die and stamp sets from Rachel Bright’s new collection with Sizzix, “A Bright Harvest.”  This release has a nice array of autumn, winter, Halloween, and Thanksgiving themes.  It’s got small tag shaped dies and awesome, intricate banner dies that are perfectly sized for cards and great for year round use -the banner dies are my favorites in this collection, and they coordinate with stamps in the Banners & Alphabet Set – perfect opportunity to personalize for a special Birthday!

VivianKehKraftySketchyCards_DI die-cut fun foam using the Banners, Adjustable Length Thinlits Set so that I could stamp quick banners with my fast, homemade, disposable stamps!  Tutorial on that HERE.  The Sizzix sandwich has your dies and fun-foam sandwiched between your cutting pads, and then sent through your Big Shot on top of your closed multi-purpose platform.

VivianKehKraftySketchyCards_BIn my studio, the kraft is out from my last session.  Reflecting for a moment while I draft this post, I’m realizing that as the temps fall, I always reach for kraft.  It’s so comforting. This wouldn’t make any sense to a non-crafter, but you guys get it, right?  While my last bokeh project with kraft was much softer, this one would be going to a strapping young man, so I wanted to keep it rougher.  I stamped on top of the white pigment ink with black  dye ink using several banner stamps from the Banners & Alphabet Set.  Then I made another card for my niece, Mimi, just because…

VivianKehKraftySketchyCards_CThe imperfect stamping and the intentional skewing creates a fun, sketchy effect that I think the kids will like.

VivianKehKraftySketchyCards_ATo up the playful feeling, I dragged ink pads along the edge before mounting and framed each card front with a fine, slightly quivering black line.

I hope you are having a fantastic week!  Has the kraft made it into your projects lately?

-V

3 thoughts on “Krafty Sketchy and Skewed

  1. You r so cute,Viv. I, too, rarely hear back when sending so thanks for being honest! Love all your beautiful work!
    They get it! Just know you’re planting seeds!

  2. I was reading your post as I usually do in my email and I just felt so sad reading you. It is such a shame that you do not hear back from a present you make with your hands and with all the love and effort you put into them. I know the thing that I most look forward when I make a present or a card myself for someone is to see that look of awe and “you made this for me?”. Money today is not that important, the fact that you actually used up your TIME to imagine and craft something for someone speaks much more of your love or appreciation for him or her than how much it actually cost you. I hope that with time your nephew and niece get to really value those presents you sent them. Know at least that WE, your readers really appreciate your time to make them and post them here on your blog. Hugs *sorry, feeling sentimental today, once a month thing* ;-P

  3. I totally “get” the Kraft thing I am the same way. Christmas cards for the past 2 years have had kraft paper bases. I’ve got to remember too not use it this year. Meanwhile, your cards are cute and definitely, you are not alone in not getting any response to gifts sent through the mail.

Leave a Reply

