Art and Craft

Teapot Cards – I Need to Make a Lot of These

Folks, I’ve been lame about blogging this month.  We got back from Vegas and immediately went straight into preparations for hosting Christmas, which was no simple task.  There was wall painting we had to do in the family room, and this one job took us days.  The room is now a beautiful, uniform, neutral putty color.  It makes me happy to look at it, and it’s way better than big patches of butterscotch where the previous owners had painted around their furniture :-/ ?!

There were decorations of course, which was entirely my domain.  I was knitting like a fiend to finish some handcrafted gifts – I managed to knit something for my niece and both nephews, as well as for a friend!  Hubbie installed molding on the floor, which is way better than the blue painters tape that had been there covering the gap between wall and flooring for two years.  This year, we couldn’t use the excuse that we had used the first time we hosted Christmas two years ago, which was, “Well, we just moved in.”  I made a Lemon Pudding Cake with lemons from the yard.  Hubbie made 2 main courses.  And of course there was the cleaning.  So much cleaning, right up until the first person walked in on Christmas day.

Everything came off spectacularly, though we could barely keep our eyes open as the party wound down.  We recovered in the following days and I must say knowing we’d have guests actually motivated us to make the house a little nicer for the long term.  Now it’s really a pleasure to see our home a little warmer, a little cozier, a little cleaner.  And finally, I am now returning to normal life.  I did some weeding out back today, took a break to share some of our mandarins with the dogs – love doing that!!!  Have you seen my Instagram video of them munching  on citrus haha?  And I finally got into some cute crafting!

VivianKehTeapotCards_A

Umm, these teapot cards?!  I have to make a lot of these!  I think they are so dang cute!  Throughout the holidays, I had been considering these adorable larger shaped dies from our new collection with Lori Whitlock – she’s got a Bigz Cupcake, Teapot, Fox, Owl, and Jar in this release.  Using the dies that I own from this collection, I decided to employ the simplest of die-cutting techniques to make some cards.  It is, after all, time to send out some thanks!

VivianKehTeapotCards_1

Fold a piece of cardstock so that your card base can cover the entire width of your shape.  Then simply shove it over just enough so that a decent portion of the folded edge won’t be die-cut.

VivianKehTeapotCards_2Send it through your BigShot, and in one pass, you’ve got the cutest card!!!  You could make your card with just this one layer if you were in a rush.

VivianKehTeapotCards_3

But I went ahead and die-cut the full shape on a pretty piece of pre-embossed cardstock from Core’dinations.

VivianKehTeapotCards_4

I adore this shape!  You can sand the raised surface to reveal these elegant designs.

VivianKehTeapotCards_5

To make adhering a breeze, I reached for my Xyron Creative Station.  This type of machine applies adhesive to whatever you send through – no messy, sticky fingers!  This die-cut fit inside the machine perfectly.

VivianKehTeapotCards_6

For just a little dimension, I pushed up the petals of the blossoms which are also die-cut from this one Teapot die.

VivianKehTeapotCards_7

This die scores the line for the teapot’s lid.  So to make that part pop a little more, I die-cut another teapot, used scissors to cut along that score line, distressed the edge, and adhered it to my card.

VivianKehTeapotCards_9

There is a Framelits w/Stamps Set called Jar & Teapot Sentiments which coordinates with this die, and in addition to some pretty frame/tag shapes, it too has small teapot and cup dies.

VivianKehCupcakeCard_1

I especially appreciate that the stamp sentiments can be used for a variety of card giving situations – thanks, love and affection, and to accompany homemade edible items.   Using these sets with the Magnetic Platform ensures that your stamped sentiment die-cuts exactly in the center of your Framelit die.

VivianKehCupcakeCard_A

I used the same placement technique to make a card with the Cupcake #2 die.  This Bigz also has a coordinating Framelits w/ Stamps Set called Birthday Sentiments, and I used a stamp from this set to add a phrase to the card front.

VivianKehCupcakeCard_2

Since I’m not in a rush to get this one in an envelope, I added a little “frosting” to the heart which die-cuts from the same die.  FYI there are also candle and flame shapes in this Bigz die.

VivianKehTeapotCards_B

I hope you are all finding time to enjoy the season!  I will have a post to share with you on the Sizzix Blog tomorrow and hope to see you over there then.

-V

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “Teapot Cards – I Need to Make a Lot of These

  1. Adorable!! I’d love to see before and after pics of that room… Nothing like having guests to light a little fire under your decorating mojo. I had a little of that myself this year. Hope your New Year is a happy and prosperous one!

Leave a Reply

