Art and Craft

Same Tools, Different Results

Did you catch my August tutorial on the Sizzix Blog? In that post, I mentioned wanting to use the same tools in another crafting session to make some yummy stamps.   The floral die in particular stood out as prime candidate for a homemade stamp!  Prior to our trip, despite the chaos that always accompanies our efforts to get out of town, I was able to to take a break and make that crafting session happen.  Didn’t have time to take the prettiest picture… But, all but one of the cards have already gone out and that feels so good!  I’m kinda becoming a fan of non-occasion cards and am losing some interest in the occasions :-/  I mean, doesn’t it feel better to send and receive when it’s not expected?  To know that you’re thought of throughout the year and not just on holidays?   In my heart, I wish for a widespread return to a love of snail mail – it’s so good for the soul.  It would be so good for our collective soul.  So…

viviankehbrightfloralcards_1

Take a look at the frame on the this Drop-Ins Framelits Die Set.  I like that economy – I can ink some fun effects on a single sheet of paper and then make that the the base for a whopping 4 cards!

viviankehbrightfloralcards_2

Smooshed some distress ink on the surface of my paper.

viviankehbrightfloralcards_3

Spritzed some water.

viviankehbrightfloralcards_4

Put some fun foam in my Sizzix Big Shot, and sent it through with this awesome Flower Power die.

viviankehbrightfloralcards_5

Picked out the bits.  I won’t lie – because this was sticky fun foam, this took longer than I would have liked.  But I sure was happy with my stamp…  Which I will use over and over again!

viviankehbrightfloralcards_6

Smooshed some ink randomly on the stamp but making sure to avoid the edges.   Then, stamped it up!

viviankehbrightfloralcards_8

On the Drop-In, I did just the tiniest bit of inking to suit a more bohemian style.

viviankehbrightfloralcards_b

Adhered.

viviankehbrightfloralcards_c

Love the happy result.

viviankehbrightfloralcards_a

As I mentioned earlier, didn’t have time to get the set up pretty on my pic.  But you get the idea.  Loose, colorful and happy.

VivianKehStephanieBarnardCards_A

And a look at my first projects using these tools – clean, fresh, no less happy.  The tutorial for the clean cards above is here.  Same tools, different result.

Thanks for visiting with me today!

-V

 

 

 

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

4 thoughts on “Same Tools, Different Results

  1. I’ve used sticky-backed fun foam to die cut stamps – love being able to get more uses out of my supplies! Love your results and agree – let’s send cards just because we want to, not just when we feel we should. Lovely tutorial!

  2. Vivian where have you been? This is the last blog you have done…It is now March 11,2017 and I wonder where you are…Are you okay….? Did something happen? Please email me and let me know if all is okay in your world…..Thanks and Big Hugs to you…

  3. Hi Vivian! I discovered your wonderful youtube channel and blog last year, and I have learned so much from you and I have been inspired to make so many projects after watching your tutorials. I just need more, and just as I discovered you I don’t see you releasing any new material! I need my art fix!….lol. Are you planing on coming back with more videos?

Leave a comment