Uncategorized

Working with “Texturez”

Literally!   I have a quick video tutorial to share with you today that features Texturez, which is a gritty paste that came in our Color Add-on in Scraps of Darkness‘ June 2013 “Firecracker” Kit.  I had some inspired crafting last night and was thrilled with the results – totally ORGANIC, which y’all know, is totally MY THANG lol!

VivianKehEarthTag_A

It was cut from my well used Sizzix Tag and Bookplates Bigz die – love that thing!  Below, you can see its soft sheen in the light.

VivianKehEarthTag_B

Tags are not done enough, in my book.  A format which lacks any of the intimidation one might experience with large format papercrafting, and allows you to play for play’s sake.  Here are a few details – the focus of the tutorial…

VivianKehEarthTag_CAnd the warped fiber…

VivianKehEarthTag_DHere’s the video – hope you like it!

Tata for now!

-Vivian

27 thoughts on “Working with “Texturez”

  1. Beautiful simplicity. Thank you for sharing this beautiful tag. Also for the reminder to just sit down and play. Tags are a stress free, expectation free, fun surface to play on. The sparkle gems were a perfect embellishment. The tip of heating the cord, very cool.
    I enjoyed the inspiring video.
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

    • thanks, sharon. i think i’m nuts over all things “organic.” i actually have an idea i’m thinking about trying out and sharing, but i have a feeling it’s a bit too organic lol!

  2. Very realistic looking. No need to stamp “Earth”. The embossing powder reminded me of lava as it bubbled and melted. I wish all fibers would react that way when heat was applied to it.

  3. I really like the technique and the finished project – I’ve never seen Texturez before. Instead of using printer paper, how about using another tag and then you get two for the price of one!

  4. Wow! Loved this demo!! I especially loved that bubbly effect too. I bought a heat gun ages ago but haven’t tried it yet, thank you for the inspiration!
    Mary

  5. Pingback: Monday Links to Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways #zentangle #tutorials #giveaways | lifeimitatesdoodles

  6. Pingback: Condoleance kaarten met modelling paste en embossing poeder. | stempelwolven

  7. Wow, that is some magic there! I came here from Jenn’y blog, Pushing The Right Buttons. She just created an awesome Halloween tag using this technique for inspiration.
    I have now subscribed to your channel. Thank you for sharing your work :o)

Leave a comment