Uncategorized

Quick and Rich Autumn Cards

Something about the Las Vegas Studio makes me really productive in my papercrafting.  Could it be the Feng Shui?  Hmm, the studio here is teensy weensy, the cat litter box is so uncomfortably close that when one of our cats uses it, my uber sensitive nostrils alert me most unpleasantly.  My window looks out to a wall.  I’m constantly moving piles of paper to the chair I’m not using haha – you papercrafters know what I’m talking about lol!  Can’t be the feng shui.  Whelp, it could very possibly be the fact that the garden here is much smaller, so the Contadina hat comes off and large chunks of the day become devoted to my love of paper.

Anyway, I am making a big ole’ dent in my holiday cards.  Right now just focusing on Thanksgiving.  I wish I could say that I send out gratitude cards throughout the year, that just may end up becoming a resolution for the New Year.  For now, Thanksgiving is a great opportunity to let folks know how much you appreciate having them in your lives.  If you don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in your country, the projects I’m sharing today would be great to tell anyone who’s due that he or she is appreciated.

In the past few weeks, I’ve been sharing autumn themed projects here on my blog.  And I’m interested in quick methods that help create a feeling in line with the comforts of autumn – vintage-y browns, ochres, the colors of the transforming patchwork of trees, a cup of cocoa, nostalgia, la la la.  And folks, this year I am feeling that dry embossing is the way to go.  My first card uses several of the die-cutting and embossing tools I shared in my recent video, which you can view here.

VivianKehSizzixCard_A

This card features patterned papers from a newer Authentique collection.  The substantial weight of these papers makes them spectacular candidates for dry embossing and distressing.  The central piece was cut and embossed using the Sizzix Bigz “Labels” Die and Embossing Folder Set #658465.

VivianKehSizzixCard_C

See what I’m talking about? Quick, rich, texture.

VivianKehSizzixCard_D

One of my new favorite embossing folders is one that Sizzix has had out in circulation for a bit, the Sizzix Textured Impressions Fancy & Floral Embossing Folder Set #657197.  It boasts such pretty flourishes that so delicately peek out from the edges of card projects (see below).  LURVE.

VivianKehSizzixCard_BI coaxed some nostalgia out of all my embossed patterns with a nice hit of Vintage Photo distress ink from Ranger.  Below you can see a detail of the spray of leaves.  As I mention in the video, you get a multitude of shapes in just one pass using the “Autumn Gatherings” Sizzix Decorative Strip die #657454 aka “Fall Garland.”  A big time-saving plus.

VivianKehSizzixCard_EThese leaves were sanded, inked with the aforementioned color, and crinkled a bit prior to adhering.

I crafted a second card using more lovely dry embossing tools from Sizzix in conjunction with the Tim Holtz “Nostalgic” Kraft Core Collection from Core’dinations and a small strip from the newer Tim Holtz “Shattered” Kraft Core CollectionHandsome handsome collections that make for unique dry embossed projects.

VivianKehSizzixCard2_A

The lovely warm color in the background was dry embossed using a folder from the Sizzix/ Brenda Walton “Elegant” Embossing Folder Set #658750.    YUMMY!

VivianKehSizzixCard2_CThe “Shattered” strip below used a partial impression from the other folder in the same set.

VivianKehSizzixCard2_DI repurposed a traditionally winter themed die and embossing folder set for this autumn themed project – always looking for ways to use seasonal dies throughout the year.  The leaves shown below were die-cut and embossed with the Sizzix “Holly and Berries” Bigz and Embossing Folder Set #657363.

VivianKehSizzixCard2_BIn both projects, I also added in a bit of stitching.  I hope you enjoyed my inspiration today – I would love to see what you, my fellow Sizzix lovers, are doing these days with your Sizzix dies and embossing folders and hope you will post your autumn themed projects on my fb page!  I love it when you guys visit me there!

-V

SUPPLIES:
Sizzix-
Bigz “Labels” Die and Embossing Folder Set #658465
Textured Impressions “Fancy & Floral” Embossing Folder Set #657197
“Autumn Gatherings”Decorative Strip die #657454 aka “Fall Garland”
Brenda Walton “Elegant” Embossing Folder Set #658750
“Holly and Berries” Bigz and Embossing Folder Set #657363

Core’dinations-
Tim Holtz “Nostalgic” Kraft Core Collection
Tim Holtz “Shattered” Kraft Core Collection

Authentique-
“Natural” Collection

Other-
Ranger – Vintage Photo Distress Ink
Momenta – Metal Embellishments
Really Reasonable Ribbon – Seam Binding
Scallop Paper Punch

15 thoughts on “Quick and Rich Autumn Cards

    • thank you, sharon! it’s so great to have those days in the craft room that go smoothly. thee were really fun – i’ve found a few embossing folders that are beautiful, and i think i will be using them a lot this holiday season.

  1. Vivian, I love flourishes. They add such beautiful elegance and along with your rich colors, these projects turned out so lovely. Thanks for sharing your awesome talent!

  2. My core’dinations pads have been sitting waaaay too long; I’m getting them out after all this inspiration you gave to me. Next I’m going to your FB page. Thanks and I sure can tell you love what you are doing.

  3. Vivian, these cards are gorgeous! Thank you for sharing these inspiring cards. Elegant and quick, using embossing folders is excellent for Thanksgiving. Ours is on the 7th of October, so quick and elegant is the answer for me at this time.
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

  4. Pingback: Guess What Today Is? | contadina k

Leave a Reply

