Uncategorized

Crafty Inspiration from “The Artist”

Have any of you seen this film? It’s one of my favorites from the last year – so unique. And the costume design was spectacular. Both my man and I were impressed that despite miniscule amounts of actual language, we were spellbound throughout. That Berenice Bejo has got to show up in more movies. She was utterly charming.

When I visited Bo Bunny Press’ blog, they suggested shaped cards, and I immediately thought of those gorgeous head hugging hats that Bejo wore in “The Artist.”  So I hand drew and cut out my own hat-shaped card, then decorated using Bo Bunny’s Ambrosia papers, Bigz dies from Sizzix, and a flower punch from Martha Stewart.  The sentiment is from my versatile Hampton Art Footlong, and it was inked with Colorbox Frost White.

I popped the bottom rim of the hat on pop dots to give a sense of depth, and I blended some Tim Holtz Tea Dye ink on the interior of the hat for some shadow.  I wanted a tiny sentiment that wouldn’t interfere with the hat illusion.  So I inked up with my juicy Colorbox, then heat embossed with fine clear embossing powder from Ranger.

Sentiment Stamp - Hampton Art Footlong, Ink - Colorbox Frost White

For the leaf, I used my “Lacquered Leaves Technique.”  I made a video to show you how to do it which you can find by clicking here.

Check out the video to see how I made the leaf!

This was great fun and came together so quickly!  A new challenge site, Crafty Friends, is currently having a Vintage play, so here goes for that one, too!

Love this style of hat!

Wish my head was smaller and that this kind of hat looked good on me – I’d be all over it!

OK, guys! I think after this shaped card, I must yank myself out of my craft room and do something different.  Thinking I may get in the garden, perhaps pot up some of my furry Rudbeckia that are ready to be transplanted.

Before I sign off, since it’s my young friend Julie’s birthday and she already received her card from me, I can show you the Floral Explosion Card that I made for her!

Floral Explosion!

If you are interested, you can see more of my cards at my online gallery here!  Hope this “bit” o’ color and vintage style brightens up your day!  Later y’all!

21 thoughts on “Crafty Inspiration from “The Artist”

    • Thanks Gabrielle! I love everything flapperish and after seeing that movie, I really want to expand my knowledge of that era. Let me know if you know any good sites or references.

    • Michele – this was so much fun! After I finished, I will confess that I was so happy, I became the hammed up version of myself, pranced around my man, posing with it in front of my face hahahaha!

  1. Fabulous projects. Love them both especially the hat. The clothes and accessories were wonderful in that era.
    Have a great weekend.
    Florence x

    • Thanks, Florence! Yes, how could one not be inspired by that time? I’m going to keep my eyes open for a book with lots of pictures that I can use for reference! Thanks so much for stopping by – I’m going to sit down with my espresso and visit your site now 🙂

  2. Pingback: Easing the Bite of Hard Times | contadina k

  3. Pingback: Peep peep peep! | contadina k

  4. Pingback: Sizzix + Me = Sweet! | contadina k

  5. Pingback: Sizzix Blog | The Start of Something You

Leave a comment